High Country News
Nonprofit, reader-supported magazine covering the American West since 1970 — public lands, water, climate and Indigenous affairs — based in Paonia, Colorado, and winner of multiple George Polk Awards.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- Paonia, Colorado
- Country
- United States
- Type
- Nonprofit, reader-supported magazine
- Founded
- 1970
- Founder
- Tom Bell
- Based in
- Paonia, Colorado
- Coverage area
- 12 western states, including Alaska
- Publisher (2025)
- Greg Hanscom
- Editor-in-chief (2025)
- Jennifer Sahn
- Paying subscribers (2025)
- About 20,000
- Staff (2025)
- About 30, around two-thirds editorial
Overview
High Country News is a nonprofit, reader-supported magazine based in Paonia, Colorado, that has covered the American West since 1970, reporting on public lands, water, wildlife, climate and Indigenous affairs across 12 western states including Alaska, with a staff of about 30 (Editor and Publisher). It is, in the words of Colorado College, one of America’s most respected environmental publications, dubbed by some “the conscience of the West” (Colorado College). Its distinctive recent chapter is a deliberate shift from writing about Indigenous communities for a largely white environmental audience to writing for Indigenous readers themselves — a shift that produced its most consequential investigation, “Land-Grab Universities,” and that shapes its coverage of fights like the one over Chaco Canyon (5280).
From a shoestring paper to the “conscience of the West”
Tom Bell, an educator and rancher-turned-environmentalist, bought Camping News Weekly in August 1969 and renamed it High Country News a year later, with its first issue appearing in 1970 (Texas Observer). The paper nearly died in its infancy: in 1973 Bell announced he could do no more and would have to shut it down, only for money-stuffed envelopes from readers to pour in and save it, and a year later he sold his stake (Texas Observer). His successors, the Texas Observer noted, struggled to keep the paper afloat even as they turned out one strong issue after another over the next 40 years (Texas Observer).
The magazine built its reputation on the unglamorous, consequential business of the West: water, public lands, grazing, mining, wilderness, wildlife and growth (Colorado College). By 2008 it had 23,500 subscribers, including most of the congressional delegations of the western states, and its prestige had been bolstered by a 1987 George Polk Award for an investigative series on water-use policies in 10 western states (Colorado College). Its reporting has repeatedly moved policy rather than merely describing it: after a fracking-site explosion in Colorado in 2017, its multimedia account of the fear and alarm that followed won the National Press Foundation’s 2019 Thomas L. Stokes Award for energy and environment writing, and judges noted that fracking accidents like the Windsor fire had prompted the Colorado legislature to pass a bill giving cities and counties more voice in regulating oil and gas development (National Press Foundation).
The business model behind that independence is reader support rather than advertising. Editor and Publisher reported in February 2025 that the magazine had about 20,000 paying subscribers, a staff of about 30 — around two-thirds of them editorial — and some 6 million website impressions in 2024, operating on revenue generated mostly from donations, grants and other contributions (Editor and Publisher). Its coverage area spans nearly 2 million square miles, and about half of that land is public land — national forests, Bureau of Land Management grazing lands, wildlife refuges or military lands (Editor and Publisher). Subscriber counts have moved over time rather than standing still: 5280 reported 37,000 subscribers in 2020, against the roughly 20,000 paying subscribers reported in 2025 (5280; Editor and Publisher).
| Year | Recognition | For |
|---|---|---|
| 1987 | George Polk Award | Investigative series on water-use policies in 10 western states |
| 2019 | Thomas L. Stokes Award | Reporting on the aftermath of a Colorado fracking-site explosion |
| 2021 | George Polk Award, Education Reporting | “Land-Grab Universities” |
The Indigenous Affairs desk and “Land-Grab Universities”
High Country News created an Indigenous affairs desk in 2017 that published dozens of stories from journalists, authors and experts across Indian Country, with other non-Native outlets following with new beats of their own (Buffalo’s Fire). The desk’s stated mission was to write for, rather than about, Indigenous readers — gaining their trust and moving past the tropes journalists tended to flock to in Indian Country, like dying languages or alcoholism (5280). Its first leader was Tristan Ahtone, an investigative reporter and then-president of the Native American Journalists Association, who came in as a consultant and stayed for three years (5280). Ahtone himself described the magazine’s past record frankly: when it did cover Indigenous affairs, it extracted stories from Indigenous communities but wrote them for a white audience, and the question was whose viewpoint was being centred (5280).
By 2025 the desk was led by Indigenous Affairs editor Sunnie Clahchischiligi, with associate editor Anna Smith focusing on tribal sovereignty and environmental justice and reporter B. “Toastie” Oaster covering, among other topics, “green colonialism” — the critical examination of green-energy projects inside Indigenous communities (Editor and Publisher). Publisher Greg Hanscom told Editor and Publisher that the magazine was among the first non-Native publications in the country to create a desk with a team specifically dedicated to issues of concern to Native communities, led and largely staffed by Native journalists, and that the desk had changed how the whole magazine worked (Editor and Publisher).
The desk’s defining work arrived in March 2020, when Ahtone and historian Robert Lee published “Land-Grab Universities,” reconstructing how the United States funded the land-grant university system with expropriated Indigenous land (University of Cambridge). The investigation located 80,000 parcels scattered across 24 states, identified their Indigenous owners, and traced the endowment profits from dispossession in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries — 52 universities built on 11 million acres taken through more than 160 land cessions from nearly 250 tribes, bands and communities (University of Cambridge). On 6 April 2020 the magazine launched an interactive website letting the public explore the fully mapped data, and published Lee’s dataset open-source for future researchers and journalists (University of Cambridge). The statistic that travelled furthest is also the one with a documented aftermath: a number of the universities at the heart of the story responded by launching initiatives, changing their land-acknowledgment practices and using the report, website and dataset in their teaching (University of Cambridge). The project won the 2021 George Polk Award for Education Reporting (University of Cambridge). The follow-through continued in partnership with Grist, with reporting on how states own lands on reservations that tribes must pay to use: the joint work found schools, hospitals, prisons and other institutions profiting from land and resources in 79 tribal nations, including Montana’s management of 5.2 million surface acres and 6.2 million subsurface acres, which distributed $62 million to public institutions in 2023 (Editor and Publisher).
The shift was contested inside the magazine, not just celebrated outside it. Editor-in-chief Brian Calvert, who led the magazine for three and a half years, was invited by publisher Greg Hanscom to resign in late September 2020, and framed the choice facing the magazine starkly: it would either help uphold white supremacy or help undermine it (5280). Former editor Betsy Marston, while praising the Native American coverage, warned that the magazine risked losing readers if it neglected the public lands that had been its core (5280). Hanscom said the staff planned to carry on the changes Calvert set in motion, with the newsroom going fully remote (5280).
Chaco Canyon: the desk’s logic in a live fight
The same editorial logic — Indigenous communities as the protagonists of western land stories, not their backdrop — is visible in the magazine’s coverage of the Greater Chaco fight. In July 2026 the All Pueblo Council of Governors took its campaign for permanent protection of the Greater Chaco landscape to Washington, and High Country News covered the Capitol news conference at which council “chair” Joey Sanchez criticised Interior Secretary Doug Burgum’s lack of engagement, saying “we asked for a meeting, but we never got it” (FactsLedger). The event itself, reported by The Paper on 22 July 2026, brought Sanchez and governors from the council’s 20-member Pueblo nations together with New Mexico’s entire congressional delegation outside the U.S. Capitol to urge Burgum to withdraw a proposal revoking Public Land Order 7923, the 2023 order that withdrew about 336,000 acres of federal land around Chaco Culture National Historical Park from new oil and gas leasing for 20 years (The Paper). The delegation also called for the Interior Department’s 14-day public comment period to be extended to 90 days, with meaningful government-to-government consultation with tribes before any decision (The Paper). That is the through-line from “Land-Grab Universities” to Chaco: in both cases the magazine treats the question of who the land was taken from, and who still lives with the consequences, as the story itself rather than its background.
What this profile does not claim
This profile does not state a current publisher, editor-in-chief, staff count or subscriber figure beyond the February 2025 report, and it does not quote the High Country News Chaco article directly, because that article could not be fetched in this environment and the coverage fact rests on the council profile’s record of it. It does not resolve the conflicting July 2026 leadership titles for the All Pueblo Council of Governors — HCN’s “chair” for Joey Sanchez against The Paper’s “Chairman” for the same man at the same event and Native News Online’s “Chairman” for James R. Mountain — and it does not claim that High Country News coverage caused any policy outcome at Chaco or at any land-grant university. It does not state a founding town, which none of the sources read in full confirms, and it does not present any single subscriber figure as current, since the dated figures move from 23,500 in 2008 to 37,000 in 2020 to about 20,000 paying subscribers in 2025 without an explained cause.
Timeline
- 1970
- Tom Bell renames Camping News Weekly, which he bought in August 1969, as High Country News; its first issue appears in 1970.
- 1973
- Bell announces he can no longer keep the paper going; readers send in enough money to save it, and he sells his stake a year later.
- 1987
- Wins a George Polk Award for an investigative series on water-use policies in 10 western states.
- 2017
- Launches an Indigenous Affairs desk, one of the first such desks at a non-Native publication, led and largely staffed by Native journalists.
- 2019
- Wins the National Press Foundation's Thomas L. Stokes Award for reporting on the aftermath of a Colorado fracking-site explosion.
- 2020
- Publishes "Land-Grab Universities" by Tristan Ahtone and Robert Lee, with an interactive mapped database of expropriated Indigenous land behind the land-grant university system.
- 2021
- "Land-Grab Universities" wins the George Polk Award for Education Reporting.
- 2025
- Reported as a nonprofit with about 20,000 paying subscribers, about 30 staff, and some 6 million website impressions in 2024.
- 2026
- Covers the All Pueblo Council of Governors' Capitol news conference pressing for permanent protection of the Greater Chaco landscape.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- Subscriber counts differ by year and source: 23,500 in 2008 (Colorado College), 37,000 in 2020 (5280), and about 20,000 paying subscribers in 2025 (Editor and Publisher). This profile reports each figure dated and does not explain the change.
- Whether the Indigenous Affairs desk was literally the first outside Native publications rests on 5280 alone; Editor and Publisher says only "among the first". This profile uses the weaker wording.
- The HCN Chaco article itself was not directly readable in this environment (hcn.org fetch-blocked), so this profile does not quote it; the coverage fact rests on the council profile's record of it, and the underlying event facts rest on The Paper.
- Leadership titles for the All Pueblo Council of Governors conflict across sources in July 2026: HCN called Joey Sanchez council "chair", The Paper called him "Chairman" at the same event, and Native News Online named James R. Mountain as Chairman in the same period. This profile does not resolve the conflict.
- No current (post-February 2025) publisher, editor-in-chief, staff count, or subscriber figure is stated, and no founding town is stated: none of the sources read in full confirms one.
Sources
9 sources (1 tier 1, 7 tier 2, 1 tier 3), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
Built only from sources fetched and read in full: the University of Cambridge (tier1) for "Land-Grab Universities" and its Polk Award, the Texas Observer, Colorado College, the National Press Foundation, 5280, Buffalo's Fire, Editor and Publisher, and The Paper (all tier2) for the founding, awards, desk, staffing and Chaco coverage. High Country News' own site could not be fetched in this environment (domain blocked by policy) and is not cited; the July 2026 Chaco coverage is recorded via FactsLedger's All Pueblo Council of Governors profile, which cites the HCN article, and is used only for the fact of that coverage. Wikipedia was used only as a lead index and is not cited.
- Supports: 2021 George Polk Award for Education Reporting; 52 universities, 11 million acres, 80,000 parcels, 24 states, 160+ cessions, nearly 250 tribes/bands/communities; interactive site 6 April 2020 and open dataset; university responses; Pulitzer Center and Fund for Investigative Journalism support Open original source
- High Country Thirst Tier 2Supports: Bell bought Camping News Weekly August 1969 and renamed it High Country News in 1970; 1973 near-shutdown saved by readers; Bell sold his stake in 1974; water and Rio Grande investigations Open original source
- Supports: Ed and Betsy Marston as former publisher/editor; Paonia base; 23,500 subscribers including most western congressional delegations; "conscience of the West"; 1987 George Polk Award for water-use series in 10 western states Open original source
- Supports: 2019 Thomas L. Stokes Award for fracking-site explosion aftermath reporting; Windsor fire prompting Colorado legislation giving cities and counties more voice in oil and gas regulation; reporters Daniel Glick and Jason Plautz, visuals Ted Wood Open original source
- Supports: 37,000 subscribers in 2020; nonprofit reader-supported model; Brian Calvert editor-in-chief for three and a half years, invited to resign; Indigenous Affairs desk launched 2017 with Tristan Ahtone as consultant for three years, writing for rather than about Indigenous readers; internal tension over public-lands vs social-issues focus; publisher Greg Hanscom; newsroom going fully remote Open original source
- Supports: Indigenous affairs desk created in 2017, dozens of stories from journalists, authors and experts across Indian Country; other non-Native outlets followed with new beats Open original source
- Supports: 50+ years; nonprofit; about 20,000 paying subscribers; about 30 staff, two-thirds editorial; 6 million website impressions in 2024; 12 states including Alaska, nearly 2 million square miles, about half public land; publisher Greg Hanscom; editor-in-chief Jennifer Sahn; desk staff Sunnie Clahchischiligi, Anna Smith, B. "Toastie" Oaster; Grist partnership on state trust lands (79 tribal nations; Montana 5.2 million surface and 6.2 million subsurface acres, $62 million in 2023) Open original source
- Supports: 22 July 2026 Capitol event; APCG Chairman Joey Sanchez and Pueblo governors with the full New Mexico delegation urging Interior Secretary Doug Burgum to withdraw the proposal revoking Public Land Order 7923 (2023 order, about 336,000 acres, 20 years, 10-mile buffer); 14-day comment period and call for 90 days plus government-to-government consultation Open original source
- Supports: Record of High Country News' July 2026 Capitol news-conference coverage identifying Joey Sanchez as council "chair" and reporting his criticism of Interior Secretary Doug Burgum's lack of engagement; supporting only, not load-bearing for Chaco facts Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research