Blend
San Francisco fintech that digitizes mortgage and banking origination for lenders — listed on the NYSE in 2021, then battered by the 2022 rate shock after its $422M Title365 bet.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- San Francisco, California, United States
- Country
- United States
- Founded
- 2012, by Nima Ghamsari
- Listed
- NYSE: BLND (July 2021)
- IPO
- Raised $360 million at a ~$4 billion valuation
- Title365 acquisition
- $422 million from Mr. Cooper Group (2021)
- Headcount
- 2,276 at end of 2021, including 587 Title365 employees
Overview
This profile covers Blend Labs, Inc. — the San Francisco financial-software company listed on the New York Stock Exchange as BLND — not the various unrelated businesses that share the name. Blend builds a cloud-based digital origination platform for banks, credit unions and mortgage lenders, spanning mortgages, consumer loans and deposit accounts and helping institutions streamline workflows from application to close (Reuters). Co-founded in 2012 by Nima Ghamsari, a former employee of analytics giant Palantir Technologies, it rode the pandemic-era lending boom to a $360 million IPO in July 2021 (Reuters) — then spent the 2022 rate shock unwinding the acquisition that the boom had funded.
The platform
Blend’s software digitizes the banking experience end to end, “from the moment they start an application for a loan or a deposit account to the moment they digitally sign the final documents,” as Reuters described it at the IPO (Reuters). The company describes itself as a digital origination platform whose suite covers mortgage and consumer banking — home equity, deposit accounts, credit cards, personal lending and auto lending — with Blend Builder letting customers configure custom workflows from pre-built components (Reuters). The platform also embeds third-party technology, data and service providers, including a marketplace of insurance carriers and settlement agencies (Reuters). One measure of its institutional standing: housing-finance giant Fannie Mae has integrated data from Blend into its underwriting program, using it to help lenders evaluate borrowers’ rental payment history when approving home loans (Reuters).
The IPO and the money behind it
Blend filed confidentially for its listing in April 2021, targeting a valuation of nearly $4 billion and seeking to raise up to $360 million; it had last been valued at $3.3 billion after a January funding round (Reuters). The offering priced 20 million Class A shares at the upper end of its $16–$18 range, with Goldman Sachs, Allen & Company and Wells Fargo Securities as lead underwriters (Reuters). On the first day of trading the shares opened at $20.00 and closed at $20.90 (Global Venturing). The underwriters held a 30-day option to buy another 3 million shares, which could have pushed the offering to $420 million (Global Venturing).
The IPO capped a fast pre-public funding sprint: Salesforce Ventures invested in May 2019, Temasek and General Atlantic co-led a $130 million Series E the following month, a $75 million Series F in August 2020 valued the company at $1.7 billion, and Coatue Management and Tiger Global co-led a $300 million Series G in January 2021 — with earlier backing from Greylock, Emergence Capital, 8VC, Lightspeed, Founders Fund, Formation 8, Nyca Partners and Andreessen Horowitz (Global Venturing). Timothy Mayopoulos, the former chief executive of Fannie Mae, served as president through the listing (Reuters).
The refi bust
Just before going public, Blend paid $422 million to acquire Title365, a national title insurance and settlement services provider, from Mr. Cooper Group (Inman). The deal supercharged 2021 revenue — up 144% to $234.5 million — but operating expenses rose 129% to $313.2 million, and headcount ballooned from 577 at the start of the year to 2,276 by its end, including 587 Title365 employees in Chennai, India (Inman).
Then rates rose. Fannie Mae economists forecast refinancings would fall roughly 80% from 2020’s $2.8 trillion, and Blend — whose title business was “driven heavily by refinance,” in the words of executive Marc Greenberg — laid off 200 employees, about 10% of its workforce, in April 2022, shedding $34.5 million in annual payroll costs (Inman). Ghamsari told staff the company was “renewing our focus on the technology that got us here” — the software platform — while cutting the operational businesses that had grown up around the refi boom (Inman).
What this profile does not claim
- It does not state Blend’s financial results or market position after 2022; no fully-read independent sources covering later years were found.
- It does not describe Title365’s later history (including any impairments or divestiture); those were not verified from fully-read sources.
- It does not state current headcount, revenue or product lineup; the figures above are the most recent verified in the sources read.
- It does not take a view on Blend’s investment merits; the stock-analysis aggregator pages in the SERP were not used as sources.
Timeline
- 2012
- Blend Labs is co-founded by Nima Ghamsari, a former employee of analytics company Palantir Technologies, to build cloud software that digitizes mortgage and banking origination. Timothy Mayopoulos, the former chief executive of Fannie Mae, later becomes the startup's president.
- 2021
- In January, Coatue Management and Tiger Global co-lead a $300 million Series G round. In July, Blend raises $360 million in an NYSE IPO, pricing 20 million shares at the top of its $16–$18 range; the shares open at $20.00 and close at $20.90 on the first day of trading. Before the listing, Blend pays $422 million to acquire title insurer Title365 from Mr. Cooper Group.
- 2022
- Rising mortgage rates crush refinancing volume, and Blend lays off 200 employees — roughly 10% of its workforce — cutting $34.5 million in annual payroll costs. Headcount had grown from 577 at the start of 2021 to 2,276 by year-end, including 587 Title365 employees in Chennai, India.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- Blend's financial results after 2022 were not verified from fully-read sources and are not stated.
- Title365's later history (impairments, divestiture) was not verified from fully-read sources and is not stated.
- Current headcount and product lineup were not verified and are not stated.
Sources
4 sources (2 tier 1, 2 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
Built entirely from independent sources fetched and read in full; no first-party sources used per editorial policy. Wikipedia used only as a lead index, never cited. The 2021 Reuters IPO article was read via its full-text wire reprint; the Reuters company profile was read on reuters.com.
- Supports: Digital origination platform description, Blend Builder, product suite (mortgage, consumer banking, home equity, deposits, cards, personal/auto lending), San Francisco address, leadership (Ghamsari, Mayopoulos), Fannie Mae rental-payment-history integration Open original source
- Supports: IPO target (~$4B valuation, up to $360M), $3.3B January valuation, 2012 founding by Nima Ghamsari (ex-Palantir), Timothy Mayopoulos as president (ex-Fannie Mae CEO), 20M shares at $16-18, underwriters, NYSE ticker BLND Open original source
- Supports: IPO pricing and first-day trading ($20.00 open, $20.90 close), Q1 2020–2021 financials, pre-IPO rounds (Salesforce Ventures, Series E $130M, F $75M at $1.7B, G $300M), early investors, shareholder breakdown Open original source
- Supports: April 2022 layoffs (200 employees, ~10%, $34.5M payroll savings), refi collapse (Fannie Mae forecast), Title365 $422M acquisition from Mr. Cooper Group, 2021 revenue $234.5M / opex $313.2M, headcount growth 577 → 2,276 Open original source
Related
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research