General Atlantic
General Atlantic is a global growth investor managing about $129 billion. Founded in 1980 as the family office of Duty Free Shoppers co-founder Chuck Feeney, it took outside capital from 1993. Since 2020 it has built a multi-strategy platform spanning credit, climate, and infrastructure via Actis.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Country
- United States
- Founded
- 1980, as a family office for Chuck Feeney
- Outside capital accepted since
- 1993
- Assets under management
- About $129 billion (September 2026, all strategies)
- Chairman and CEO
- Bill Ford
- Strategies
- Growth Equity, Credit, Climate, Sustainable Infrastructure
- Investor base
- US pension funds, insurance companies, sovereign wealth funds, family offices
General Atlantic
The growth-equity giant that began as one billionaire’s family office
Every first-page search result will tell you General Atlantic is a growth-equity firm founded in 1980 managing over $100 billion. What none of them lead with is the origin story: the firm debuted in 1980 as the personal family office of Duty Free Shoppers co-founder Chuck Feeney — the billionaire famous for giving away almost his entire fortune — and for more than a decade it invested Feeney’s money alone, only beginning to accept outside capital in 1993 1. Its investors today include big US pension funds, insurance companies, sovereign wealth funds, and family offices 1.
From single strategy to multi-strategy platform
For its first few decades, General Atlantic stayed close to its growth-equity roots, expanding geographically and backing companies across technology, financial services, consumer, health care and life sciences, and the energy transition 1. That changed in the 2020s. In 2020 it created Atlantic Park, a private-credit joint venture with Iron Park Capital — then acquired Iron Park three years later, formally establishing General Atlantic Credit in 2023 12. In 2021 it launched its inaugural climate growth fund, BeyondNetZero 2. In 2025 it entered a strategic partnership with UBS Group to push further into private credit 1.
The Actis acquisition
The biggest step in that diversification was Actis, the London-based sustainable infrastructure investor. In January 2024 the two firms announced a definitive agreement under which General Atlantic would acquire Actis, creating a combined platform of about $96 billion in assets under management; financial terms were not disclosed 2. Actis brought roughly $12.5 billion in assets, more than 140 investment professionals across 17 offices, and over $25 billion raised since its inception, investing in the energy transition, digital transition, and supply-chain transformation 2. Actis became General Atlantic’s sustainable infrastructure arm — still led by chairman Torbjorn Caesar, still operating under the Actis brand, and retaining independence over its investment decisions 2. At the Davos meeting that year, chairman and CEO Bill Ford framed the bet as a “multi-decade opportunity” in the energy transition 3.
Where it stands now
Bloomberg reported in September 2026 that the firm manages about $129 billion, has revived its plans for an initial public offering, and is marketing an evergreen fund for high-net-worth individuals designed to invest about $1.5 billion a year 1. Earlier in 2026, Novak Djokovic joined General Atlantic as a global strategic adviser 1.
General Atlantic’s reach extends into the asset-management world it once only invested in: in 2024 it took a minority stake in Partners Capital, the London-based investment office whose co-founder once helped run General Atlantic itself 1.
What this profile does not claim
- Portfolio holdings beyond the named companies (Shein, PhonePe, Mobileye, as reported by Reuters in 2024) are not verified in the sources read 3.
- The IPO plan’s timing, size, and terms are unconfirmed; the firm has declined to comment 1.
- AUM figures are point-in-time and source-attributed (~$96B combined at the Actis announcement in January 2024; ~$129B in September 2026), not a single asserted number 12.
Footnotes
-
Financial Advisor / Bloomberg News, “General Atlantic Launches Fund For Wealthy Ahead Of Planned IPO”: $129B AUM; revived IPO plans; evergreen fund ~$1.5B/year; 1980 Feeney family office; outside capital since 1993; investor base; Atlantic Park 2020; Iron Park acquired 2023; UBS partnership; Djokovic adviser 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10
-
Actis / General Atlantic joint announcement, 16 Jan 2024: definitive agreement; Actis ~$12.5B AUM, 140+ professionals, 17 offices, $25B raised; sustainable infrastructure arm; Caesar stays; independence retained; GA founded 1980, deployed >$60B; combined ~$96B AUM; terms undisclosed; BeyondNetZero 2021; GA Credit 2023. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
The Business Times / Reuters, “General Atlantic to buy UK’s Actis in latest infrastructure tie-up” (16 Jan 2024): deal corroboration; 225-company portfolio incl. Shein, PhonePe, Mobileye; Ford on energy-transition opportunity at Davos. ↩ ↩2
Timeline
- 1980
- General Atlantic debuts as the family office of Duty Free Shoppers co-founder Chuck Feeney
- 1993
- Begins investing outside capital
- 2020
- Creates Atlantic Park, a private-credit joint venture with Iron Park Capital
- 2021
- Establishes its inaugural climate growth fund, BeyondNetZero
- 2023
- Acquires Iron Park Capital; formally establishes General Atlantic Credit
- 2024
- Acquires Actis as its sustainable infrastructure arm
- 2025
- Enters a strategic partnership with UBS to expand into private credit
- 2026
- Novak Djokovic joins as global strategic adviser; firm revives IPO plans and markets an evergreen fund for wealthy individuals
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- This profile does not state the exact closing date of the Actis acquisition; the fully-read joint announcement covers the definitive agreement of 16 January 2024, and Bloomberg's 2026 reporting records the acquisition as a 2024 event.
- Whether the planned IPO will proceed, and on what terms, is not confirmed; General Atlantic has declined to comment.
- The firm's current portfolio holdings beyond the named companies are not verified in the sources read.
Sources
3 sources (1 tier 1, 1 tier 2, 1 first-party), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Statements the subject makes about itself are marked as such and are not treated as independent evidence. See the source policy.
- Supports: Independent corroboration of the Actis acquisition; portfolio of 225 companies including Shein, PhonePe, and Mobileye; Bill Ford on the multi-decade energy-transition opportunity at Davos Open original source
- Supports: About $129B AUM; revived IPO plans; evergreen wealth fund of about $1.5B annually; debuted 1980 as Feeney family office; outside capital since 1993; investor base; Atlantic Park 2020; Iron Park acquisition 2023; Clipway stake; Actis acquisition 2024; UBS partnership; Novak Djokovic adviser 2026 Open original source
- Supports: Definitive agreement 16 January 2024; Actis ~$12.5B AUM, 140+ professionals, 17 offices, $25B raised since inception; sustainable infrastructure arm; Torbjorn Caesar stays; investment independence retained; GA founded 1980, deployed >$60B; combined ~$96B AUM; terms undisclosed Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research