Boston University
Private nonprofit research university in Boston, founded in 1839 as a Methodist seminary in Vermont. In 2026 it launched the BU Promise - free tuition for families earning up to $200,000 - while cutting 5% of its budget and laying off 120 staff.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Established
- 1839
- Location
- Boston, Massachusetts
- Country
- United States
- Type
- Private nonprofit research university
- Founded
- April 24-25, 1839, as the Newbury Biblical Institute, a Methodist theological school in Newbury, Vermont
- Chartered
- The Massachusetts Legislature chartered 'Boston University' in 1869; Governor William Claflin signed the charter on May 26, 1869
- Charter founders
- Isaac Rich, Lee Claflin, and Jacob Sleeper - Boston businessmen and Methodist laymen
- Charter provision
- No instructor could be required to profess particular religious opinions, and no student could be refused admission on account of religious opinions
- Enrollment
- 36,977 total (18,289 undergraduate, 18,688 graduate), 2025-26 Common Data Set
- Fall 2025 admissions
- 76,776 first-time first-year applicants; 9,853 admitted, about 12.8%
- President
- Melissa Gilliam
- BU Promise
- Free tuition for students from families earning up to $200,000 with typical assets, starting in the 2026-27 academic year; family contributions capped at $20,000
- Budget action (July 2025)
- About 120 layoffs and 120 vacant positions eliminated under an average 5% budget reduction for fiscal 2026
- Address
- One Silber Way, Boston, Massachusetts 02215
Overview
Boston University in 2026 is a study in contrasts. In July 2025, the university announced it would cut its budget by an average of 5% for fiscal 2026, laying off about 120 people and eliminating another 120 vacant positions — steps four senior leaders called “a day of loss for all of us” but “a necessary step in ensuring our future” (BU Today). Barely a year later, starting with the 2026–27 academic year, the same university began covering full tuition for students whose families earn up to $200,000 — the BU Promise — with family contributions capped at $20,000 and families earning up to $75,000 getting all costs covered (Inside Higher Ed). Austerity and generosity, in the same institution, in the same year.
The generosity is the older thread. BU began as a Methodist theological seminary — the Newbury Biblical Institute, founded in Newbury, Vermont, on April 24–25, 1839, after Methodist ministers and laymen meeting at Boston’s Old Bromfield Street Church voted to establish it (wiki.Alumni.NET). But its 1869 charter was strikingly nonsectarian for its era: no instructor could be required to profess particular religious opinions, no student could be refused admission on account of religious opinions, and every department was open to all regardless of sex, race, or religion — the School of Theology excepted (wiki.Alumni.NET). The BU Promise is arguably that 1869 clause expressed in 2026 dollars.
A Vermont seminary becomes a Boston university
The institute spent its first decades migrating: to Concord, New Hampshire, in 1847 as the Methodist General Biblical Institute, then to Boston in 1867, where it was rechartered as the Boston Theological Seminary on February 27 (wiki.Alumni.NET; BU Timeline). In 1869, three trustees — Boston businessmen and Methodist laymen Isaac Rich, Lee Claflin, and Jacob Sleeper — obtained a Massachusetts Legislature charter for a university to be called “Boston University,” which Governor William Claflin (Lee Claflin’s son) signed on May 26, 1869 (wiki.Alumni.NET). On February 27, 1871, the seminary was renamed the School of Theology — the university’s first school (BU Timeline).
The young university’s finances nearly collapsed before it began. Isaac Rich died in January 1872, leaving the bulk of his estate — appraised at more than $1.5 million, mostly Boston real estate — to BU. But the Great Boston Fire of December 1872 destroyed nearly all of the bequeathed buildings, and the insurance companies that had covered them went bankrupt; the bequest, delivered in 1882, was worth about half its original value (wiki.Alumni.NET).
Built partly on Harvard’s defectors
BU’s law school owes an early debt to its rival across the river. When Christopher Columbus Langdell became dean of Harvard Law School in 1870, he revolutionized legal education — introducing the case method and the Socratic approach, standardizing the curriculum, and ranking students by class. The methods were, in Harvard historian Daniel Coquillette’s telling, “so shocking at the time” that there was an exodus of Harvard students, “many of whom fled to the newly founded Boston University Law School” (Harvard Law School). BU’s legal education tradition was, in part, built by students Harvard could not keep.
Today BU enrolls 36,977 students — 18,289 undergraduates and 18,688 graduate students — as a private nonprofit university headquartered at One Silber Way in Boston (Boston University Common Data Set). It is selective: for fall 2025, 76,776 students applied for first-time first-year admission and 9,853 were admitted, about a 12.8% admit rate (Boston University Common Data Set).
Free tuition and a 5% cut: 2025–26
The budget cuts announced in July 2025 were part of a sector-wide retrenchment: Harvard, Northwestern, Cornell, Stanford, the University of Oregon, Temple, and the University of Maryland had all announced reduced budgets or layoffs in the preceding months, all citing some mix of federal funding uncertainty, inflation, and demographic shifts (BU Today). At BU, the reductions would be spread across the university — some areas cut less than 5%, others more — with around 20 additional positions seeing schedule changes; the layoffs affected about 1% of employees, who were offered separation packages and career transition services (BU Today).
The BU Promise, announced in August 2026, moves in the opposite direction on affordability. For domestic first-year students from families earning up to $200,000 with typical assets, BU now covers full tuition — just over $73,000 for 2026–27 — plus a portion of housing and dining, capping family contributions at $20,000; standard room and board runs about $22,000 (Inside Higher Ed). It joins Swarthmore, Yale, Harvard, and Rice among selective institutions that have raised the free-tuition threshold to $200,000 (Inside Higher Ed). “No family should rule out Boston University because they assume it’s beyond their reach,” said Chris Sedore, vice president and associate provost for enrollment and student administration ad interim (Inside Higher Ed).
What this profile does not claim
This profile does not claim BU has no sectarian character — only that its 1869 charter barred religious tests for instructors and religious bars on admission, a provision reported on a tier3 source (see openItems). It does not resolve the discrepancy over the name of the 1867 Boston charter (Boston Theological Seminary vs. Boston Theological Institute). It does not state BU’s endowment or any university rankings, since no fully-read source confirmed them. It does not claim the BU Promise covers international students or continuing students — the announcement summarized here describes eligibility in terms of household income and typical assets only. It does not claim the July 2025 layoffs are complete or final; it reports only the announced actions.
Timeline
- 1839
- On April 24-25, Methodist ministers and laymen from throughout New England meet at the Old Bromfield Street Church in Boston and vote to establish a Methodist theological school; the Newbury Biblical Institute opens in Newbury, Vermont.
- 1847
- The institute relocates to Concord, New Hampshire, becoming the Methodist General Biblical Institute (commonly the Concord Biblical Institute).
- 1867
- The institute moves to Boston and is rechartered as the Boston Theological Seminary on February 27.
- 1869
- Three trustees of the Boston Theological Institute obtain a charter from the Massachusetts Legislature for a university to be called 'Boston University'; Governor William Claflin, son of founder Lee Claflin, signs it on May 26.
- 1871
- The Boston Theological Seminary is renamed the School of Theology - the university's first school - on February 27; the institute is absorbed into Boston University.
- 1872
- Founder Isaac Rich dies in January, leaving the bulk of his estate (appraised at more than $1.5 million, mostly Boston real estate) to the university; the Great Boston Fire of December destroys nearly all of it, and the insurance companies go bankrupt - the bequest, delivered in 1882, is worth about half its original value.
- 1870
- Christopher Columbus Langdell becomes dean of Harvard Law School; his case-method revolution shocks students so badly that many flee to the newly founded Boston University Law School.
- 2025
- In July, BU announces an average 5% budget reduction for fiscal 2026, about 120 layoffs, and the elimination of 120 vacant positions, citing federal funding uncertainty, inflation, and changing student demographics.
- 2026
- The BU Promise begins with the 2026-27 academic year - free tuition for students from families earning up to $200,000 with typical assets.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- The 1867 Boston move's charter name is given differently by BU's own timeline ('rechartered as the Boston Theological Seminary') and the wiki.Alumni page (a Massachusetts charter as the 'Boston Theological Institute'); the discrepancy is unresolved, so the body follows BU's own timeline.
- Rankings (QS, Times Higher Education, ARWU, US News) appear only in search snippets and Wikipedia-derived pages not read in full, so none are stated here.
- No fully-read page confirmed a current endowment figure (snippet-level figures ranged from $3.1 billion to $4.5B+), so the endowment is not stated.
- The wiki.Alumni.NET history section cites Wikipedia as its reference; it is used only for facts no first-party source covers.
Sources
7 sources (1 tier 2, 1 tier 3, 5 first-party), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Statements the subject makes about itself are marked as such and are not treated as independent evidence. See the source policy.
Seven pages were read in full. Boston University's own BU Today verified the July 2025 budget cuts and layoffs. Inside Higher Ed's summary of the university's announcement verified the BU Promise terms. BU's own timeline verified the 1867 Boston recharter and the 1871 naming of the School of Theology. The wiki.Alumni.NET Boston University page verified the 1839 founding, the 1847 Concord move, the 1869 charter and signatories, the nonsectarian charter provision, and the Isaac Rich bequest story. BU's 2025-26 Common Data Set verified enrollment and admissions figures. Harvard Law School's own site verified the Langdell-era student exodus to BU Law School.
- Supports: The BU Promise - free tuition starting fall 2026 for families earning up to $200,000 with typical assets, $20,000 contribution cap, 2026-27 tuition just over $73,000, standard room and board about $22,000, all costs covered for families up to $75,000, over-$200,000 families encouraged to apply, the Gilliam and Sedore quotes, and the peer institutions (Swarthmore, Yale, Harvard, Rice). Open original source
- Supports: The April 24-25, 1839 founding meeting at Old Bromfield Street Church, the Newbury Biblical Institute in Newbury, Vermont, the 1847 Concord relocation, the 1869 charter obtained by Isaac Rich, Lee Claflin, and Jacob Sleeper and signed May 26, 1869 by Governor William Claflin, the nonsectarian charter provision, the openness of all departments regardless of sex, race, or religion (except theology), and the Isaac Rich bequest and Great Boston Fire story. Used only where no first-party source covers the fact. Open original source
- Supports: The July 2025 budget actions - average 5% reduction for fiscal 2026, about 120 layoffs, 120 vacant positions eliminated, about 20 schedule changes, the 'day of loss' letter from Gilliam, Waters, Tirella, and Howe, the 1% of employees figure, the cited causes (federal funding uncertainty, inflation, changing demographics, new technologies), and the peer institutions making similar moves. Open original source
- First School Named (BU Timeline) First-partySupports: The February 27, 1871 renaming of the Boston Theological Seminary as the School of Theology, the university's first school. Open original source
- Supports: The February 27, 1867 move to Boston and recharter as the Boston Theological Seminary. Open original source
- Boston University Common Data Set 2025-2026 First-partySupports: Private nonprofit status, the One Silber Way address, 18,289 undergraduates and 18,688 graduate students (36,977 total), and the fall 2025 first-time first-year figures - 76,776 applicants and 9,853 admitted. Open original source
- Talking About a Revolution First-partySupports: Christopher Columbus Langdell's 1870-1895 deanship, his introduction of the case method and Socratic approach, and the resulting student exodus - many fleeing to the newly founded Boston University Law School. Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research