Zach Witkoff
Co-founder and CEO of World Liberty Financial, the Trump-family crypto venture; the son of Trump's special envoy who became the face of the firm while its Emirati deals ran parallel to his father's diplomacy.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Country
- United States
- Known for
- Co-founder and CEO of World Liberty Financial; chairman of ALT5 Sigma; president and chairman of the proposed World Liberty Trust national bank
- Family
- Son of Steve Witkoff, Trump's Special Envoy to the Middle East; brother Alex Witkoff is also in the family business
- Education
- University of Miami Business School; worked on construction sites with his father from age 15
- Early career
- Project manager at the Witkoff Group; started Witkoff Capital, the family office, in 2019 to diversify into tech, AI and blockchain
- Signature deal
- Announced at Token2049 in Dubai in May 2025 that Abu Dhabi's MGX would use World Liberty's USD1 stablecoin to complete a $2 billion investment in Binance
- Regulator milestone
- On August 14, 2026, the OCC granted World Liberty Trust Company preliminary conditional approval for a national trust-bank charter
Overview
Zach Witkoff is the son who built the crypto track of the family business while his father flew Trump’s diplomacy. Until 2025, he was, in the words of The New York Times, “virtually unknown in the crypto world” — a real-estate scion who ran the family office. Then, as his father jetting around the globe on White House duty, the younger Witkoff “transformed into a crypto superstar — the face of World Liberty” (The New York Times). He is the co-founder and CEO of World Liberty Financial, the Trump-family cryptocurrency venture; the chairman of the Nasdaq-listed ALT5 Sigma; and, since August 2026, the president and chairman of the proposed World Liberty Trust national bank (Reuters). His defining moment came on a Dubai stage in May 2025, when he announced that an Abu Dhabi sovereign fund would use his company’s stablecoin to complete a $2 billion investment in Binance — at the time, the largest investment in a crypto company ever made (The New York Times). What no standard biography ties together is the parallel structure behind it: father and son, diplomacy and crypto, running on the same Gulf capital at the same time.
From construction sites to the family office
Witkoff’s entry into business started in the family trade. He had been working on construction sites alongside his father from the age of 15, and a few years after graduating top of his class from the University of Miami’s Business School, he started Witkoff Capital in 2019 — the family office, built to expand the group’s hard-asset holdings into technology (Luxury Travel Magazine). He was explicit about where he was looking: “We are very long in hard assets and want to diversify into tech while maintaining a strong real estate presence,” he said in the 2019 interview, naming AI and blockchain as the themes the family office was watching (Luxury Travel Magazine). The crypto star’s origin story was a family office, not a trading desk — a detail the crypto press rarely mentions. The interview also recorded the Witkoff Group’s hospitality footprint — the West Hollywood EDITION, the Times Square EDITION, the Public Hotel in New York — the luxury pipeline he grew up inside (Luxury Travel Magazine).
The Dubai announcement
World Liberty Financial launched in September 2024 with Donald Trump and his sons alongside the Witkoffs, and Zach took the chief executive role (Reuters). In March 2025 he joined a group of the industry’s most powerful executives for a White House crypto gathering headlined by Trump and the administration’s AI and crypto czar, David Sacks (The New York Times). The same month he became a father, naming his son “Don,” after the president (The New York Times).
On March 25, 2025, Witkoff announced on X that World Liberty would begin selling a dollar-pegged stablecoin, USD1, tailored to “sovereign investors and major institutions” — the announcement also revealed that BitGo, a custodian backed by Sacks’s Craft Ventures, would store the reserves underlying the coin (The New York Times). Then came Dubai. On stage at Token2049 in May, flanked by crypto investor Justin Sun and Eric Trump, Witkoff praised the Emirates as “just one incredible country,” “the most innovative country on planet Earth today,” and revealed the deal: MGX — the Abu Dhabi investment vehicle chaired by Sheikh Tahnoon bin Zayed Al Nahyan — would use USD1 to complete a $2 billion investment in Binance, the giant crypto exchange (The New York Times). The transaction, the largest ever in a crypto company according to Binance, effectively handed World Liberty a $2 billion bank deposit — funds the company could invest to generate returns in the tens of millions of dollars annually (The New York Times). “We thank MGX and Binance for their trust in us,” Witkoff said from the stage (The New York Times).
The parallel track
The striking part of the Times investigation was how closely the crypto operation ran alongside the diplomacy. While Steve Witkoff was Trump’s envoy, his son “kept tabs on the Middle East discussions” and, in private conversations, alluded to high-level meetings in the region — with Sheikh Tahnoon having become “a good friend of the family,” as Zach told an associate (The New York Times). Beginning in January 2025, Fiacc Larkin — a computer-science expert who served as G42’s head of crypto — joined World Liberty with the title of “chief strategic adviser,” creating what the Times described plainly: “while the U.A.E. was negotiating with the White House to secure chips for G42, a G42 employee was helping the Witkoffs and the Trumps make money” (The New York Times). On the Dubai stage, Witkoff’s praise went further: “We really need to take a page out of His Highness’s and the Emirates’ book. They are just an amazing example of how you can lead with innovation while also maintaining your family values” (The New York Times). The White House and World Liberty both denied any connection between the chips deal and the crypto deal, with an administration spokeswoman calling the crypto transaction “totally unrelated to any government business” (The New York Times).
A second chairman’s seat and a bank charter
In August 2025, Witkoff added a second corporate leadership seat: when ALT5 Sigma Corporation, a Nasdaq-listed fintech, closed a $1.5 billion offering led by World Liberty, he became chairman of its board — with Eric Trump joining as a director and World Liberty co-founder Zak Folkman as a board observer (ALT5 Sigma Corporation). The company said it would implement a treasury strategy holding about 7.5% of the total $WLFI token supply (ALT5 Sigma Corporation).
Then came the bank. On August 14, 2026, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency granted preliminary conditional approval for World Liberty Trust Company, N.A., to organize as a national trust bank — an application filed in January 2026 (Reuters). If finalized, the charter would let World Liberty issue, redeem and custody USD1 in-house — functions then handled by BitGo — under federal supervision, while not permitting deposit-taking or lending like a traditional bank (Reuters). Zach Witkoff is the trust company’s president and chairman; his statement on the approval was: “We welcome continuous scrutiny from Federal regulators for many years to come” (Reuters). The OCC attached conditions including at least $20 million in capital and a qualified internal-audit manager, and noted it had received “passivity agreements” from investors — including Eric Trump — vowing not to seek control of the bank (Reuters). By August 2026, USD1 had grown to about $4 billion in market capitalization, the fourth-largest stablecoin, and Reuters estimated the Trump family had earned about $50 million from USD1 through June 2026 — with World Liberty having “funneled more than $1.6 billion to the U.S. president and his family as of April,” by Reuters’s calculations (Reuters).
The family’s cut and the 2022 arrest
Financial disclosures reported in September 2026 show the scale of the family’s stake: Steve Witkoff made nearly $107 million in 2025 from a holding company affiliated with World Liberty, according to documents obtained by a government watchdog (ABC News). At one point he was listed as “co-founder emeritus” on World Liberty’s website, a title he shared with Trump; the firm is operated by Zach Witkoff and Trump’s three sons (ABC News). Trump himself reported $526 million from World Liberty token sales and another $65 million from sales of equity in the venture’s holding company in 2025 (ABC News). In May 2025 World Liberty had said Steve Witkoff was divesting and had “no operational role, no financial interest in WLFI deals, and no influence on day-to-day decisions”; by September 2026 a White House spokeswoman said he had “fully divested from World Liberty Financial” (ABC News).
One earlier episode resurfaced in April 2026, when body-camera footage of Witkoff’s New Year’s Day 2022 arrest outside Miami’s E11EVEN nightclub was published (The Newsground). The then-28-year-old was arrested after a fight, and officers searching his pockets found a bag of cocaine; he was charged with disorderly conduct, resisting arrest, and felony possession of cocaine (The Newsground). The footage shows him repeatedly insisting he had “done nothing” and at one point saying, “I’m friends with Marc Roberts, I swear to God” — referring to the club’s owner — to which a security guard replied, “Nobody cares. Stop dropping names” (The Newsground). Court records show he posted bond within days and entered a written plea of not guilty on January 3, 2022; prosecutors filed formal charges in February but the matter never went to trial — the felony cocaine charge and one count of resisting arrest were dropped by the prosecutor (The Newsground).
What this profile does not claim
This profile does not credit Zach Witkoff with the Middle East envoy role — that is his father Steve’s position, and any source assigning it to Zach is corrected here. It does not assert a “$1.4B UAE-DMG deal” involving Zach; no such deal was found in a full-read source, and the closest verified transactions are the MGX $2 billion Binance investment and the snippet-level 49% stake report, which is not asserted. It does not take a position on whether the chips and crypto deals were linked — the Times found no evidence of an explicit quid pro quo, and the White House and World Liberty deny any connection. It does not state his exact birth date or marriage details, which did not appear in a full-read source. USD1 figures are dated datapoints, not current readings, and the OCC charter approval is preliminary and conditional — the bank cannot open until pre-opening conditions are met.
Timeline
- 2019
- A few years after graduating from the University of Miami's Business School, Witkoff starts Witkoff Capital, the family office, to expand the group's holdings into technology, watching AI and blockchain for integration into real estate.
- 2022
- On New Year's Day, Witkoff, then 28, is arrested outside Miami's E11EVEN nightclub and charged with disorderly conduct, resisting arrest, and felony cocaine possession; prosecutors later decline to pursue the case, dropping the felony cocaine charge and one resisting-arrest count.
- 2024
- World Liberty Financial launches in September with Donald Trump and his sons alongside the Witkoffs; Zach Witkoff is a co-founder and the firm's CEO.
- 2025
- On March 25, Witkoff announces on X that World Liberty will sell USD1, a dollar-pegged stablecoin tailored to "sovereign investors and major institutions," with BitGo storing the reserves.
- 2025
- In May, on stage at Token2049 in Dubai with Justin Sun and Eric Trump, Witkoff announces that Abu Dhabi's MGX will use USD1 to complete a $2 billion investment in Binance — the largest investment in a crypto company ever recorded at the time.
- 2025
- On August 12, ALT5 Sigma closes a $1.5 billion offering led by World Liberty; Witkoff becomes chairman of the Nasdaq-listed company's board.
- 2026
- On August 14, the OCC grants preliminary conditional approval for World Liberty Trust Company to organize as a national trust bank; Witkoff is its president and chairman. In September, disclosures show Steve Witkoff made nearly $107 million from a World Liberty-affiliated holding company in 2025.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- The special-envoy role belongs to Zach's father, Steve Witkoff — not Zach. Any source that assigns the diplomatic title to Zach is describing the wrong Witkoff.
- No '$1.4B UAE-DMG deal' involving Zach was found in any full-read source; the closest verified transactions are the MGX $2 billion Binance investment in USD1 and the snippet-level 49% stake report, which this profile does not assert.
- An exact birth date and marriage details circulate online but did not appear in a full-read source; this profile does not state them.
- USD1 market-cap and revenue figures are dated datapoints from the cited articles, not current readings.
Sources
6 sources (3 tier 1, 2 tier 2, 1 tier 3), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
- Supports: The two-track Witkoff operation — father as envoy, son becoming "the face of World Liberty"; the March 25, 2025 USD1 X announcement and BitGo partnership; the March 2025 White House crypto gathering; the son named "Don"; the May 2025 Token2049 announcement of the MGX $2 billion Binance investment in USD1; the "largest investment in a crypto company ever" and "$2 billion bank deposit" framing; Fiacc Larkin joining World Liberty as chief strategic adviser in January 2025; Zach "keeping tabs" on Middle East discussions and calling Tahnoon "a good friend of the family"; the Dubai praise quotes; the White House and company denials. Open original source
- Supports: The August 14, 2026 OCC preliminary conditional approval of World Liberty Trust Company; January 2026 application; no deposit-taking or lending; Zach Witkoff as Trust president and chairman with his statement quote; $20 million capital condition; Eric Trump's passivity agreement; Robert Witkoff and Scott Alper as directors; USD1 at ~$4 billion market cap as fourth-largest stablecoin; Trump family ~$50 million from USD1 through June 2026; Reuters' calculation of more than $1.6 billion funneled to the president and family as of April; the conflict-of-interest debate and the OCC's defense. Open original source
- Supports: Steve Witkoff's ~$107 million 2025 income from a World Liberty-affiliated holding company; his "co-founder emeritus" title; the firm being operated by Zach Witkoff and Trump's three sons; Trump's $526 million from token sales and $65 million from WLF holding-company equity; the May 2025 divestiture statement; the White House's September 2026 "fully divested" statement. Open original source
- Supports: The $1.5 billion registered direct offering and private placement closing on August 12, 2025; World Liberty as lead investor; Zach Witkoff becoming chairman of the board; Eric Trump as director; Zak Folkman as board observer. Open original source
- Supports: The New Year's Day 2022 arrest outside E11EVEN — the charges, the bodycam exchange including the "stop dropping names" moment, the not-guilty plea on January 3, 2022, the February formal charges, and the nolle prossed felony cocaine and resisting-arrest counts. Open original source
- Supports: The pre-crypto background — working on construction sites with his father from age 15, graduating top of his class from the University of Miami's Business School, starting Witkoff Capital in 2019, and the explicit early interest in AI and blockchain. Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research