The Trump Organization
Family business conglomerate of Donald Trump, run since 2017 by Donald Trump Jr. and Eric Trump; its income jumped 17-fold to $864 million in the first half of 2026 on crypto ventures, even as its civil-fraud penalty was vacated in 2025.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Established
- 1923
- Country
- United States
- What it is
- Group of about 500 business entities of which Donald Trump is the sole or principal owner
- Founded
- 1923, as Elizabeth Trump & Son, by Elizabeth Trump and Fred Trump
- Headquarters
- Trump Tower, New York City
- Leadership
- Donald Trump Jr. and Eric Trump, executive vice presidents; Donald Trump retains ownership
- H1 2026 income
- $864 million — 17 times the prior figure, with more than 90% from cryptocurrency ventures
- Civil fraud case
- Fraud finding upheld; $515M+ penalty thrown out as an excessive fine on 21 August 2025
Overview
The Trump Organization spent most of a century as a real-estate business and most of the past decade in courtrooms. Then it became a crypto machine. In the first half of 2026 the company took in $864 million — seventeen times its prior comparable figure — with more than $802 million, over 90%, coming from cryptocurrency ventures: $463 million from sales of the WLFI token and $336 million from the $TRUMP memecoin, against just $33 million from golf and resorts and $23 million from licensing (Reuters). The organization is the family company of Donald Trump, and since his 2017 inauguration it has been run by two of his sons — Donald Trump Jr. and Eric Trump — as executive vice presidents, with Trump himself retaining ownership (EBSCO; Hotel Business).
What the company is
The Trump Organization is not a single corporation but a group of about 500 business entities of which Donald Trump is the sole or principal owner, around 250 of them carrying the Trump name (Arab News). Its roots go back to 1923, when Trump’s grandmother Elizabeth Trump and his father Fred Trump founded Elizabeth Trump & Son in New York City, building middle-class housing in Brooklyn, Queens and Staten Island; Fred expanded it after World War II with complexes for returning soldiers and their families (EBSCO). Donald J. Trump, Fred’s fourth child, began working in the family business while attending the Wharton School, took control in 1971 and eventually renamed the enterprise the Trump Organization, pivoting it from residential housing to high-profile Manhattan projects (EBSCO). Its headquarters sits at Trump Tower on Fifth Avenue, the 68-story skyscraper the company built in the 1980s (EBSCO). The 1980s brought luxury hotels, casinos and the Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino in Atlantic City — a $250 million project — followed in 1990 by a $5 billion debt crisis that forced the Trump Plaza and the Trump Taj Mahal into bankruptcy; the company recovered in the mid-1990s and expanded into golf, television production (including The Apprentice, 2004–2017) and winemaking (EBSCO).
The sons at the helm
Donald Trump Jr.’s position inside the company is what makes it, in practical terms, his and his brother’s operation. At the January 2017 press conference where the transfer was announced, Trump’s tax lawyer Sheri Dillon said the president-elect would put his business assets in a trust and cede control to his adult sons Eric and Donald Jr. plus a longtime executive, with Don and Eric holding “the authority to manage the Trump Organization without input from Donald Trump,” and an independent ethics adviser added to the management team (Hotel Business). Ivanka Trump resigned from all management and operational roles; 30 pending deals were terminated and only domestic contracts would be allowed during the presidency (Hotel Business). The day before he took office, Trump resigned from executive positions in more than 400 companies within the organization — while keeping his ownership stake (EBSCO).
The sons have since become the public face of the business. Don Jr. and Eric are presented as co-founders of World Liberty Financial alongside their father and younger brother Barron, and both have toured the world promoting it: Don Jr. appeared in Sofia on April 27, 2026 on a “Trump Business Vision 2025” tour backed by crypto firm Nexo, while Eric promoted the project at TOKEN2049 in Dubai on May 1, 2025 (Reuters). Eric is quoted as executive vice president in company deal announcements, such as the Oman resort agreement with Saudi developer Dar Al Arkan (Arab News). Both brothers were also swept into the fraud case: each received a two-year ban from serving as a director or officer of any New York company (Associated Press). Days before Trump’s second inauguration, the company’s ethics guidelines were changed — a shift Reuters flagged as weakening the conflict-of-interest guardrails that had been announced in 2017 (Reuters).
The fraud-case saga
The New York civil fraud case defined the company’s public image through 2024–2025. Attorney General Letitia James sued in 2022, alleging Trump padded his net worth on financial statements used to secure loans and deals, misrepresenting the value of golf courses, hotels, Trump Tower and Mar-a-Lago (Associated Press). Justice Arthur Engoron ruled in February 2024 that the frauds “leap off the page and shock the conscience” and imposed a $355 million penalty that grew past $515 million with interest — over $527 million including co-defendants (Associated Press). Then, on August 21, 2025, a five-judge panel of the Appellate Division threw out the penalty as an excessive fine under the Eighth Amendment — cutting what Trump owed to $0 barring a Court of Appeals reversal — while upholding the underlying fraud finding (Associated Press). The 323-page ruling was badly split: the dissent from Justice Friedman accused the majority of “political hygiene,” and James appealed to the state’s highest court (Associated Press). Alongside the money, the judgment imposed a three-year ban on Trump leading the company and a three-year ban on New York bank loans; the $175 million appeal bond he posted became refundable (Associated Press).
A separate criminal case had already landed: New York indicted the organization in 2021 over tax benefits used by top executives, CFO Allen Weisselberg pleaded guilty in August 2022, and that December a jury convicted the company on seventeen counts of tax fraud (EBSCO).
The crypto empire
The 2025–2026 pivot is the company’s most dramatic reinvention. World Liberty Financial’s website says a Trump Organization entity receives 75% of token-sale revenue, and Reuters found that of the $75 million crypto entrepreneur Justin Sun put into WLF, about $56 million flowed to the Trump family under the distribution agreement (Reuters). Other 2026 milestones included a $100 million token purchase by the Aqua1 Foundation, a USD1 affiliate 38%-owned by the Trump Organization generating roughly $80 million in annual interest, and — in the chain that began with USD1’s selection for Abu Dhabi’s MGX $2 billion investment in Binance — a presidential pardon for Binance founder Changpeng Zhao (Reuters). Trump placed his businesses in a trust managed by his children but remains the beneficiary, and former White House ethics counsel Richard Painter described the arrangement as “legal but unethical” (Reuters).
Global footprint
The company’s reach is worldwide. Its 2017 branded golf club in Dubai — a 7,205-yard, par-71 course in DAMAC Hills — opened the Middle East expansion; it later signed with Dar Al Arkan to develop a $4 billion resort at Aida in Oman, with residential villas, a hotel and a golf course, and planned an exclusive Sidra project in Bosnia (Arab News). Older holdings include the Turnberry golf course in Scotland, which hosted numerous PGA competitions, and properties across the US from New York to Florida to Nevada, plus projects in Canada, Turkey, South Korea and India (EBSCO). One widely cited size estimate — CNN’s 2016 report of $9.5 billion in 2015 revenue and more than 22,000 employees — came with the caveat that critics said Trump often inflated the company’s perceived wealth, and the organization’s private finances remain undisclosed (EBSCO).
What this profile does not claim
This profile does not state a single reliable revenue or headcount figure for the company: published estimates vary widely and the only fully-sourced numbers (CNN’s 2016 report via EBSCO) are explicitly disputed. It does not assert the company’s founding as 1927, a date some references use for the E. Trump & Son incorporation; the profile uses 1923 (Elizabeth Trump & Son) per the tier2 reference source read in full. It does not name a chief operating officer or other executives beyond the sons, because those roles were not confirmed to this site’s standard. And it does not assert crypto-payment terms for specific overseas developments, which were not verified from a source read in full.
Timeline
- 1923
- The enterprise is founded in New York City as Elizabeth Trump & Son by Elizabeth Trump and her son Fred Trump, building middle-class housing in Brooklyn, Queens and Staten Island.
- 1971
- Donald J. Trump takes control of the family business and eventually renames it the Trump Organization, shifting from residential housing to Manhattan luxury projects.
- 2017
- The day before his inauguration, Trump resigns from executive positions in more than 400 companies and leaves management to Donald Trump Jr. and Eric Trump; Ivanka Trump resigns from all management roles and 30 pending deals are terminated.
- 2021
- New York state authorities indict the Trump Organization on tax-related charges tied to benefits used by top executives.
- 2022
- Attorney General Letitia James sues Trump and his company for fraud; in December the company is convicted on seventeen counts of tax fraud.
- 2024
- Justice Engoron rules in February that fraud is proven and imposes a penalty of $355 million, rising past $515 million with interest.
- 2025
- A New York appeals court vacates the penalty as an excessive fine on 21 August while upholding the fraud finding; the Trump family's World Liberty Financial crypto venture integrates its USD1 stablecoin into Tron in May.
- 2026
- Trump Organization income reaches $864 million in the first half, up seventeen-fold, with over 90% coming from cryptocurrency ventures.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- Published estimates of the company's revenue and headcount vary widely (EBSCO cites CNN's 2016 report of $9.5 billion in 2015 revenue and 22,000+ employees, while noting critics disputed the figures); no single reliable current figure could be verified, so none is stated.
- Sources differ on the founding date: EBSCO's reference entry dates the company to 1923 (Elizabeth Trump & Son), while other references use 1927 (E. Trump & Son incorporation). This profile uses 1923 per the tier2 source read in full.
- The chief operating officer role (Matthew Calamari, per encyclopedia listings) was not confirmed by a source read in full and is not stated.
- Claims about crypto-payment deals for specific overseas projects, including the reported $1 billion Trump Tower Dubai, were not verified from a source read in full.
Sources
5 sources (2 tier 1, 2 tier 2, 1 tier 3), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
The income figures and the structure of the Trump family's crypto revenue come from a Reuters investigation published in 2026. Historical background is drawn from EBSCO's academic reference entry on the company. The Reuters piece was read via a republication on bdnews24 and is credited to Reuters.
- Supports: The H1 2026 income figure ($864M, 17-fold, >90% crypto), the $463M WLFI / $336M $TRUMP / $33M golf / $23M licensing breakdown, the 75% WLF token-sale revenue share to a Trump Organization entity, the trust managed by Trump's children with Trump as beneficiary, Don Jr./Eric/Barron presented as WLF co-founders, Richard Painter's "legal but unethical" quote, Don Jr.'s April 2026 Sofia roadshow, Eric's Dubai appearance, Sun's $75M investment, the Aqua1 purchase, the 38%-owned USD1 affiliate, the ethics-guideline change before the inauguration and the CZ pardon. Open original source
- Supports: The 21 August 2025 Appellate Division ruling vacating the $355M penalty (>$515M with interest) as an Eighth Amendment excessive fine while upholding the fraud finding; Engoron's February 2024 ruling; James's 2022 suit; the two-year director/officer bans for Eric and Donald Jr.; Trump's three-year leadership and loan bans; the $175M bond; the 323-page split opinions and the Friedman dissent. Open original source
- The Trump Organization Tier 2Supports: The full company history — 1923 founding as Elizabeth Trump & Son, Fred Trump's postwar housing business, Donald Trump's 1971 takeover and renaming, Trump Tower headquarters, the 1990 debt crisis and casino bankruptcies, the Apprentice era, the 400-company resignation in January 2017, management left to Donald Jr. and Eric, the 2021 indictment, the December 2022 seventeen-count conviction and Weisselberg plea, and the 2015 revenue/employee figures with their caveats. Open original source
- Supports: The "about 500 business entities of which Donald Trump is the sole or principal owner" description, the 2017 Dubai branded golf club at DAMAC Hills, Eric Trump's role as executive vice president, and the Oman (Dar Al Arkan) and Bosnia (Sidra) projects. Open original source
- Supports: The January 2017 press conference details — business assets placed in a trust, control ceded to Eric and Donald Jr. plus a longtime executive, Ivanka Trump's resignation from all management roles, 30 pending deals terminated, the ban on new international deals during the presidency, and Trump retaining ownership rather than selling. Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research