Organizations

Paylocity

The Nasdaq-listed (PCTY) cloud HCM company founded in 1997 by Steve Sarowitz that went public in March 2014, posted $1.77B in FY2026 revenue, moved from co-CEO to sole-CEO leadership under Toby Williams in 2024, and expanded into finance software with the $325M Airbase acquisition.

Paylocity
Ask AI to summarize this page

Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.

ChatGPT Open with prompt Perplexity Open with prompt

FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.

Location
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Country
United States
Founded
1997, by Steve Sarowitz
Headquarters
1400 American Lane, Schaumburg, Illinois
Listed
Nasdaq Global Select Market, ticker PCTY (IPO March 2014)
CEO
Toby J. Williams (sole CEO since August 5, 2024; previously co-CEO)
FY2026 revenue
$1,771.3 million, up 11% year over year (fiscal year ended June 30, 2026)
FY2026 net income
$269.7 million
Workforce
Approximately 6,900 employees (June 30, 2026)
Client base
Approximately 44,400 clients (excluding acquisition clients, June 30, 2026)

Overview

Paylocity Holding Corporation is a Nasdaq-listed provider of cloud-based human capital management (HCM), finance and IT software, founded in 1997 by Steve Sarowitz in the Chicago area and publicly traded under the ticker PCTY since March 2014 (Nasdaq/Renaissance Capital). For its fiscal year ended June 30, 2026, it reported $1,771.3 million in total revenue — up 11% from $1,595.2 million in fiscal 2025 — with net income of $269.7 million, about 6,900 employees and approximately 44,400 clients (excluding clients added through acquisitions), and annual revenue retention above 92% (Form 10-K). The company is incorporated in Delaware and headquartered at 1400 American Lane in Schaumburg, Illinois (Form 10-K). As an SEC-reporting issuer, it files its financial disclosures with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, which is how its operating figures here are sourced.

The defining thread of Paylocity’s story is steady scaling inside one market segment: mid-sized employers. Its 10-K describes a unified platform built on a single employee record covering payroll, HR, time and attendance, recruiting, benefits, and performance management — clients typically have 10 to 5,000 employees, average over 150 employees, and the company estimates 1.3 million U.S. businesses sit in its addressable band (Form 10-K).

From a $1.55 billion IPO debut to a multi-billion revenue trajectory

Paylocity priced its March 2014 IPO at $17 per share and raised about $120 million; of the 7 million shares offered, the company sold 5 million and selling stockholders sold the rest (Reuters). The shares opened at $31, valuing the company at about $1.55 billion, and closed the day up 53% at $25.94 — the top gainer on the Nasdaq that day (Reuters). Private equity firm Adams Street Partners held a 26% stake at the time, and Reuters named Ultimate Software, Workday, ADP and Paychex as competitors (Reuters). Renaissance Capital had reported the company was founded in 1997, based in Arlington Heights, Illinois, with $91 million in trailing sales and bookrunners Deutsche Bank, BofA Merrill Lynch and William Blair (Nasdaq/Renaissance Capital).

Founder ownership stayed concentrated long after the IPO. A Schedule 13G/A filed with the SEC in February 2022 reported that Steven Ira Sarowitz beneficially owned 11,871,008 shares — 21.5% of the class as of December 31, 2021 (SEC 13G/A). Leadership also stayed unusually continuous: Steve Beauchamp had been CEO since the late 2000s, then served as co-CEO alongside Toby Williams before transitioning to Executive Chairman effective August 5, 2024, at which point Williams became the sole chief executive and principal executive officer, and Sarowitz stepped down as board chairman while remaining a director — all disclosed in the company’s Form 8-K (Form 8-K). The 10-K for fiscal 2026 is signed by Toby J. Williams as President and CEO (Form 10-K).

Beyond HCM: the Airbase acquisition and the push into finance software

The most strategic move in recent years was the September 2024 agreement to acquire Airbase, a San Francisco corporate spend management startup, for $325 million, funded through borrowings under Paylocity’s revolving credit facility (TechCrunch). Airbase had been founded in 2017 by Thejo Kote, raised just over $100 million from investors including Menlo Ventures, Bain Capital and First Round Capital, and had been valued at $600 million post-money in 2021 at the market peak, per PitchBook — meaning Paylocity bought it well below that paper high (TechCrunch). A source told TechCrunch that excluding cash on Airbase’s balance sheet, the total deal value was “a little less than $400 million” (TechCrunch).

The stated rationale was expansion beyond HR into the Office of the CFO: Airbase’s bill-pay, expense management, corporate cards and procurement tools were to be integrated with Paylocity’s HCM platform so companies could manage all operational spend on one system (Fintech Futures). Williams said the deal would let Paylocity provide “an integrated software platform to manage all aspects of their operational spend,” while Kote told TechCrunch he was convinced by “the fantastic opportunity to create a unified HCM and Finance platform for the mid-market” (TechCrunch). The fiscal 2026 10-K reflects that positioning, describing the company as a provider of “human capital management (HCM), finance and IT software solutions” with platform-wide AI (“Ignite AI”) embedded across workflows (Form 10-K).

What this profile does not claim

This profile does not state Sarowitz’s current ownership percentage — the 21.5% figure is from a February 2022 13G/A reporting holdings as of December 31, 2021, and later figures were not independently verified. It does not state a current market capitalization, which moves daily. The FY2026 10-K was read as republished filing text; the official EDGAR copy carries identical content under legal disclosure obligation, but readers should check EDGAR directly for the primary document. The detail that the company was renamed Paylocity in December 2005 appears in tertiary indexes but was not independently verified and is not stated. The profile does not claim the Airbase acquisition’s exact closing date or integration results beyond what was reported at announcement.

Timeline

1997
Steve Sarowitz founds the company that becomes Paylocity in the Chicago area; it later books $91 million in sales for the twelve months ended December 31, 2013 ahead of its public debut.
2014
Paylocity prices its IPO at $17 per share and raises about $120 million; shares open at $31, valuing the company at about $1.55 billion, with private equity firm Adams Street Partners holding a 26% stake.
2024
Steven R. Beauchamp transitions from co-CEO to Executive Chairman effective August 5, 2024, making Toby Williams the company's sole chief executive; founder Steve Sarowitz steps down as board chairman but remains a director. In September, Paylocity agrees to acquire spend-management startup Airbase for $325 million.
2026
Paylocity files its Form 10-K for fiscal 2026: total revenue $1,771.3 million (+11%), net income $269.7 million, annual revenue retention above 92%, and approximately 6,900 employees.

What we could not verify

These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.

Sources

7 sources (4 tier 1, 3 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.

Built entirely from independently fetched and fully read sources; no first-party material was used, not even for uncontested facts. The financial and leadership core is SEC filings — the FY2026 Form 10-K, the August 2024 Form 8-K on the CEO transition, and founder Steven Sarowitz's Schedule 13G/A — all regulatory records (tier1). Narrative context comes from Reuters' 2014 IPO coverage (tier1), TechCrunch's 2024 Airbase reporting (tier2), Fintech Futures (tier2), and Renaissance Capital's IPO terms coverage via Nasdaq (tier2). Wikipedia served only as a lead index and is not cited.

  1. SEC Form 10-K (via StockTitan), 2026-08-05 Supports: FY2026 revenue $1,771.3M, net income $269.7M, ~6,900 employees, ~44,400 clients, >92% retention, PCTY/Nasdaq listing, Schaumburg HQ, Delaware incorporation, CEO Toby J. Williams, shares outstanding, Ignite AI and Finance/IT platform description Open original source
  2. Reuters, 2014-03-19 Supports: IPO priced $17/share, ~$120M raised, opened $31 (~$1.55B value), 7M shares (5M company/2M selling stockholders), Adams Street 26% stake, 6,850 clients, underwriters, competitors Open original source
  3. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, 2024-08-01 Supports: Beauchamp to Executive Chairman effective Aug 5, 2024; Toby Williams sole CEO and principal executive officer; Sarowitz steps down as chairman, remains director Open original source
  4. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, 2022-02-07 Supports: Founder Sarowitz beneficial ownership 11,871,008 shares, 21.5% of class (as of Dec 31, 2021), Schaumburg address Open original source
  5. TechCrunch, 2024-09-04 Supports: Airbase $325M acquisition, revolving-credit funding, Airbase founded 2017 by Thejo Kote, $100M+ raised, PitchBook $600M 2021 valuation, ~<$400M total deal value, expansion into Office of the CFO Open original source
  6. Renaissance Capital (via Nasdaq), 2014-03-07 Supports: Founded 1997, Arlington Heights IL, IPO terms (6.7M shares, $14-16 range, $765M midpoint value), $91M trailing sales, PCTY ticker, bookrunners Open original source
  7. Fintech Futures, 2024-09-05 Supports: Airbase deal details, expected close, Toby Williams quote, ~40,000 clients, founded 1997, Nasdaq since 2014, Schaumburg HQ Open original source

Support independent research

Found this profile useful?

You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.

Support the research