Affirm
The buy-now-pay-later lender founded by PayPal co-founder Max Levchin — a $1.2B IPO that nearly doubled on debut, an Amazon partnership, and a two-act regulatory arc as the CFPB moved to supervise BNPL like credit cards.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- San Francisco, California, United States
- Country
- United States
- Founded
- 2012, by Max Levchin
- Listed
- Nasdaq (AFRM) since January 2021
- IPO
- $1.2 billion raised at $49 per share; shares closed first day at $97.24
- Business
- Point-of-sale installment loans and buy-now-pay-later checkout
Overview
Affirm is a U.S. buy-now-pay-later lender founded in 2012 by Max Levchin, a co-founder of PayPal, to offer small loans to people without credit histories or savings accounts (Reuters). It provides interest-free installment options at online checkout as well as personal loans and savings accounts, and by the time of its IPO it was working with more than 6,500 merchants including Shopify and Peloton, having recently expanded into Canada through the acquisition of PayBright (Reuters). Its investors have included Peter Thiel’s Founders Fund, Singapore’s GIC sovereign wealth fund, Spark Capital, Fidelity, Lightspeed Venture Partners, Khosla Ventures — and Shopify itself (Reuters).
The blockbuster IPO
Affirm went public on January 13, 2021, in what was then the largest U.S. listing of the year. It priced 24.6 million shares at $49 apiece — above its target range — raising $1.2 billion, and the stock closed its first day at $97.24, a 98% pop that valued the installment lender at over $23 billion (Reuters). Levchin framed the listing as a branding move as much as a financing one, telling Reuters the company had reached “the precipice of becoming a known brand among both the investor community, and consumers and merchants” (Reuters). The debut came as pandemic e-commerce was accelerating BNPL adoption: Affirm reported $174 million in revenue for the September 2020 quarter, up 98% year over year, though it still posted a $15.3 million loss (Reuters).
Months later, Affirm tied its checkout button to the largest e-commerce platform in the U.S. In August 2021 it announced a partnership with Amazon to make its buy-now-pay-later service available to select customers on purchases of $50 or more, with a broader rollout planned (Reuters via Gadgets360). Shares surged 43% on the news. The economics Reuters described are the core of the BNPL model: Affirm charges merchants a fee to offer point-of-sale loans that shoppers repay in installments (Reuters via Gadgets360).
From market darling to regulated lender
The regulatory arc arrived within months of the IPO. On December 16, 2021, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau ordered five BNPL firms — Affirm, Afterpay, Klarna, PayPal and Zip — to turn over detailed information about their industry practices (PYMNTS). Director Rohit Chopra called BNPL “the new version of the old layaway plan, but with modern, faster twists where the consumer gets the product immediately but gets the debt immediately too,” and said the bureau was concerned specifically with data harvesting, regulatory arbitrage, and accumulating debt (PYMNTS).
The inquiry’s findings, published the following year, gave the agency its ammunition. The CFPB found the five providers had originated a combined 180 million BNPL loans in 2021 totaling $24.2 billion — a more than 200% increase from 2019 — and flagged the lack of standardized disclosures, the risk of consumers becoming overextended across multiple providers, and the fact that BNPL data largely doesn’t reach credit bureaus (The Hindu). In September 2022 the bureau said it would issue guidance or a rule to align BNPL standards with those of credit card companies and begin supervisory examinations — a shift Chopra framed as defending the U.S. separation of banking and commerce as “big tech-style business practices” moved into payments (The Hindu). By then the market had already repriced the sector: Affirm’s shares were down more than 75% on the year (The Hindu).
What this profile does not claim
This profile does not claim current figures for Affirm’s merchant count, loan volume, revenue, or profitability — none were verified from fully-read independent sources at the research date. It does not claim the CFPB has finalized BNPL rulemaking or begun examinations since the September 2022 announcement. The Amazon partnership is described only as announced in August 2021; its current scope was not verified. Investor names are those Reuters reported at the time of the IPO and may have changed.
Timeline
- 2012
- Max Levchin, a co-founder of PayPal, founds Affirm to offer small loans to people without credit histories or savings accounts.
- 2021
- Affirm lists on Nasdaq on January 13, raising $1.2 billion at $49 per share; the stock closes its first day at $97.24, a 98% pop that values the company at over $23 billion.
- 2021
- Affirm announces a partnership with Amazon to offer buy-now-pay-later checkout to select customers on purchases of $50 or more; shares surge 43% on the news.
- 2021
- The CFPB orders Affirm and four other BNPL firms to submit information on their business models, citing concerns about data harvesting, regulatory arbitrage, and debt accumulation.
- 2022
- The CFPB says it plans to start regulating BNPL companies with guidance or a rule aligning sector standards with credit card companies, after its inquiry found 180 million BNPL loans totaling $24.2 billion originated in 2021.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- Affirm's current merchant count, loan volume, and profitability figures were not verified from fully-read independent sources as of the research date and are not stated.
- Whether the CFPB has finalized BNPL rulemaking or supervisory examinations since its September 2022 announcement was not verified and is not stated.
Sources
4 sources (3 tier 1, 1 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
Built entirely from independent sources fetched and read in full: Reuters (tier1, including wire reporting syndicated via Gadgets360 and The Hindu) and PYMNTS (tier2). No first-party material was used. Wikipedia was used only as a lead index and is not cited.
- Supports: Founding by Max Levchin in 2012, IPO price/raise/debut pop, $23B valuation, merchant base, PayBright acquisition, investor list Open original source
- Supports: Amazon partnership terms ($50+ purchases, select customers), 43% share surge, merchant-fee business model Open original source
- Supports: CFPB plan to regulate BNPL like credit cards, 180M loans/$24.2B 2021 inquiry findings, Affirm share decline Open original source
- Supports: CFPB December 2021 orders to Affirm, Afterpay, Klarna, PayPal and Zip; Chopra quote; stated concerns Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research