University of Southern Maine
A public university in the University of Maine System with campuses in Portland, Gorham and Lewiston. Founded as an 1878 teachers' college, it became nationally known for a brutal 2014 retrenchment — then stabilized, with enrollment near 6,200 and doctoral enrollment doubled in five years.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- Portland, Gorham and Lewiston, Maine, United States
- Country
- United States
- Founded
- 1878
- Founded as
- Gorham Normal School
- Type
- Public university; member of the University of Maine System
- Campuses
- Portland, Gorham and Lewiston, Maine
- Enrollment
- 6,168 (fall 2025 headcount); 6,325 projected for fall 2026
- Full-time share
- 72.9% of fall 2026 projected headcount
Overview
The University of Southern Maine (USM) is a public university in the University of Maine System, holding classes in Portland, Gorham and Lewiston, Maine (Mainebiz). Its roots go back to 1878, when the state opened Gorham Normal School — a teachers’ college — in the leased buildings of the closed Gorham Academy; the Academy’s 1806 building is still in university use, housing arts offices and classrooms (SAH Archipedia). After a 1970 merger and a 1978 renaming, the university became nationally known a decade ago for one of the most wrenching retrenchments in American public higher education — and then, quietly, stabilized (Mainebiz; Inside Higher Ed).
Two schools, one university
USM has used several names since its beginnings in 1878. From 1957 to 1970, the campus in Maine’s largest city was known as the University of Maine at Portland; in 1970 it merged with Gorham State College to form the University of Maine at Portland-Gorham, which was renamed the University of Southern Maine in 1978 (Mainebiz). The Gorham campus, with its 19th-century academy buildings, remains the more residential of the university’s sites (SAH Archipedia).
The 2014 retrenchment
In October 2014, USM announced plans to eliminate between a fifth and a sixth of its faculty — about 50 of roughly 300 full-time faculty — and roughly 100 of its 750 staff, to close what the administration said was a $16 million budget deficit (Inside Higher Ed). President David Flanagan, a former power-company CEO who had taken office that August, said enrollment had declined by nearly a third in five years while costs had not adjusted; the alternative, he said, was raising tuition from $7,700 to $10,000 a year, “too much for Maine students to bear” (Inside Higher Ed).
The academic restructuring was sweeping: English, philosophy and history would merge into a single humanities department of 22.5 professors (down from 29); chemistry, math and physics could become a single major; music, art and theater would combine; and remaining faculty would teach four courses a semester instead of three (Inside Higher Ed). Faculty disputed the deficit figure, filed union grievances, and warned the cuts would accelerate enrollment declines — and the fight made USM, in Inside Higher Ed’s words, “a national cause célèbre for opponents of sharp cuts to higher education” (Inside Higher Ed).
Stabilization
A decade later, the university’s numbers tell a steadier story. Official University of Maine System data puts USM’s fall headcount at 6,190 in 2023, 6,257 in 2024 and 6,168 in 2025, with 6,325 projected for fall 2026 — up 2.5% — and 72.9% of students full-time ([University of Maine System Board of Trustees](https://public.onboardmeetings.com/Meeting/qpRiuKxn8GpWkrSY1EpjQ0sgspu0Q1G7Pak1pWiR6McA/Fuz4GJlSs%2F3rNH3ysFJkR6wIbRMq1a%2Fz0FlrVVd7j4IA/Y%2FMRIrg9WS7UNu7%2Fp9vdzOtkOk4I26C9d1o23b43neoA/uyXIaiCu5PVImXM6s9WHUJthFaKPJWXIG36j4iRdg8kA/Agenda Document)). Mainebiz reported in 2026 that USM had more than doubled its doctoral enrollment over five years, with significant growth in undergraduate and graduate education and counselor education, along with cybersecurity and marketing programs (Mainebiz).
What this profile does not claim
- It does not claim the 2015 AAUP censure of the university — reported by Wikipedia but not verified from a fully-read independent source.
- It does not claim a 2024 budget surplus — reported by Wikipedia but not verified from a fully-read independent source.
- It does not claim the founding date of the Lewiston-Auburn campus — not verified from a fully-read independent source.
- It does not claim current tuition, acceptance rates or graduation rates — none were verified from fully-read independent sources.
- It does not present the administration’s $16 million deficit figure as undisputed — faculty contested it at the time.
Timeline
- 1878
- The state opened Gorham Normal School in the leased buildings of the closed Gorham Academy, training teachers.
- 1970
- Gorham State College merged with the University of Maine at Portland to form the University of Maine at Portland-Gorham.
- 1978
- The merged institution was renamed the University of Southern Maine.
- 2014
- USM announced plans to eliminate about 50 faculty and 100 staff positions to close a cited $16 million deficit, after enrollment fell by nearly a third in five years.
- 2026
- Mainebiz reported USM had more than doubled doctoral enrollment over five years, with growth in education, counselor education, cybersecurity and marketing.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- The 2015 AAUP censure of the university, reported by Wikipedia, was not verified from a fully-read independent source and is not stated.
- The 2024 budget surplus (first since 2019), reported by Wikipedia, was not verified from a fully-read independent source and is not stated.
- The founding of the Lewiston-Auburn campus in 1988 was not verified from a fully-read independent source and is not stated.
Sources
5 sources (3 tier 1, 2 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
Read in full: SAH Archipedia (Society of Architectural Historians, 1878 origin); Mainebiz on the tabled rebranding (merger/rename history, campuses); Inside Higher Ed (October 2014 retrenchment); the University of Maine System Board's FY27 Budget Review (official fall 2023–2026 headcounts); Mainebiz on spring 2026 enrollment (doctoral and program growth). No usm.maine.edu material was cited. Wikipedia supplied leads only.
- Academy Building Tier 1Supports: Gorham Academy closed 1877; buildings leased in 1878 to the state for the newly created Gorham Normal School, now USM; Academy Building still in USM use Open original source
- Supports: 2014 retrenchment plans (50 faculty, 100 staff, $16M deficit), enrollment down nearly a third in five years, tuition $7,700 vs $10,000 alternative, department mergers, union grievances, national attention Open original source
- FY27 Budget Review Tier 1Supports: USM fall headcounts (6,190 in 2023; 6,257 in 2024; 6,168 in 2025; 6,325 projected 2026, +2.5%); 72.9% full-time; 68.9% in-person Open original source
- Supports: Name history (beginnings 1878; University of Maine at Portland 1957–1970; merger with Gorham State College 1970; renamed USM 1978); Portland, Gorham and Lewiston campuses Open original source
- Supports: USM more than doubled doctoral enrollment over five years; growth in education, counselor education, cybersecurity and marketing programs Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research