Universities & Colleges

University of Oxford

Collegiate research university in Oxford, England, with teaching attested from 1096. Its 36 self-governing colleges admit students and run tutorial teaching while the central University awards degrees; ranked first in the THE World University Rankings for a record ten straight years, 2017–2026.

University of Oxford
Ask AI to summarize this page

Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.

ChatGPT Open with prompt Perplexity Open with prompt

FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.

Established
1096
Location
Oxford, England
Country
United Kingdom
Type
Public collegiate research university; an independent and self-governing institution
Founded
Teaching attested from 1096; received its Royal Charter in 1248
Structure
36 colleges and three societies, plus four permanent private halls, related to the University through a federal system; each college is independent and self-governing under a Privy Council-approved charter
Students
More than 26,000 — 12,460 undergraduates and 13,755 postgraduates
International
43% of the student body (about 12,565 students) from more than 170 countries and territories, as of December 2025
Admissions
Around 3,300 undergraduate places; more than 23,000 applicants for 2024 entry (about seven per place); over 66% of UK undergraduates admitted in 2024 came from state schools
Rankings
First in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings for 2017–2026 — a record ten consecutive years
Research
REF 2021 — the highest volume of world-leading research in UK higher education; £865.7 million total research income in 2021/22; more than 300 spinout companies via Oxford University Innovation, the most of any UK institution
Press
Oxford University Press is the largest university press in the world — a department of the University, with offices in more than 50 countries

Overview

The University of Oxford is not a university in the conventional sense — it is a federation. There is no central campus: Oxford is made up of 36 colleges, three societies and four permanent private halls spread across the city, related to the central University through a federal system (University of Oxford). Each college is independent and self-governing, holding a charter approved by the Privy Council, and the colleges — not the University — select and admit undergraduates, house them, and are responsible for their undergraduate tutorial teaching and welfare (University of Oxford). The University itself determines course content, organises lectures and seminars, provides the libraries, laboratories and museums, sets and marks examinations, and awards the degrees (University of Oxford). This split — students belong simultaneously to a small college and to a world-class university — is the structural fact that most summaries of “Oxford” skip past, and it shapes everything from how tutorials work to who actually admits you.

Teaching is attested at Oxford from 1096, and the university received its Royal Charter in 1248, making it one of the oldest universities in the world; the oldest colleges — University, Balliol and Merton — were established by the 13th century, while the newest, Green Templeton, dates only to a 2008 merger and Reuben College to 2019 (IAU/UNESCO WHED; University of Oxford). It is an independent and self-governing institution consisting of the University, its divisions, departments and faculties, and the colleges (University of Oxford).

Colleges, tutorials and degrees

The college is the unit of student life. Every Oxford student belongs to a college as well as to a course department and the University, and undergraduates typically live in college accommodation in their first and final years (University of Oxford). Most tutorial teaching happens in colleges, and college tutors — who usually research as well as teach — assess applicants, conduct admissions interviews, and effectively decide who comes to their college and whom they will teach (University of Oxford). The permanent private halls are similar to colleges but smaller, founded by particular Christian denominations, with two admitting undergraduates (University of Oxford).

Oxford-educated figures profiled in this reference include Tony Blair (law at St John’s College), James Cuff (D.Phil. in molecular biophysics), Ghislaine Maxwell (Balliol College), Reuven Yaron (who wrote his doctoral thesis at Oxford), and Helen Toner (a research affiliate at Oxford’s Centre for the Governance of AI).

Scale, research and standing

Oxford enrols more than 26,000 students — 12,460 undergraduates and 13,755 postgraduates — with 43% of the student body, around 12,565 students, coming from more than 170 countries and territories (University of Oxford). Entry is intensely competitive: there are usually only about 3,300 undergraduate places, and more than 23,000 people applied for 2024 entry — roughly seven applicants per place — while over 66% of UK undergraduates admitted in 2024 came from state schools (University of Oxford).

On research, Oxford’s submission to the 2021 Research Excellence Framework had the highest volume of world-leading research in UK higher education, and its total research income reached £865.7 million in 2021/22 (University of Oxford). Oxford University Innovation is the UK leader in generating spinout companies — more than 300 to date, more than any other UK institution — and the most prolific university patent filer in the country (University of Oxford). The university contributes around £16.9 billion to the UK economy and supports more than 90,400 full-time jobs (University of Oxford).

The rankings record is singular: Oxford was ranked first in the world in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings for 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026 — a record ten consecutive years — and in the 2026 subject tables was first in the world for medical and health subjects for the 15th year running and for computer science for the eighth year in a row (University of Oxford). Oxford University Press, a department of the University, is the largest and most successful university press in the world, publishing in some 100 languages with offices in more than 50 countries (University of Oxford).

What this profile does not claim

  • It does not state a single “founding date”: 1096 is the date from which teaching is attested, and 1248 the date of the Royal Charter; there is no consensus single foundation year.
  • It does not fix a single college count: the University’s current page lists 36 colleges, three societies and four permanent private halls, while the IAU/UNESCO database entry records 39 colleges and 7 permanent private halls — the figures shift as halls open and close.
  • It does not state the endowment, the university motto, or the vice-chancellor’s name: none was verified on a source read in full for this profile.
  • It does not claim the colleges are departments of the University: with the exception of the three societies (Kellogg, Reuben, St Cross), the colleges are independent, self-governing corporate bodies.
  • It makes no claim about admissions statistics beyond the years stated, and none about individual colleges beyond what the University-wide sources record.

Timeline

1096
Teaching is first attested at Oxford.
1248
The University receives its Royal Charter.
2008
Green Templeton comes into existence through the merger of Green and Templeton Colleges — the University's newest college.
2019
Reuben College is founded by the University — its newest society.
2021
In the Research Excellence Framework 2021, Oxford's submission has the highest volume of world-leading research in UK higher education.
2026
Oxford is ranked first in the THE World University Rankings for a record tenth consecutive year (2017–2026).

What we could not verify

These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.

Sources

4 sources (1 tier 1, 3 first-party), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Statements the subject makes about itself are marked as such and are not treated as independent evidence. See the source policy.

Built from four sources read in full: three University of Oxford pages (facts and figures, "The University," college overview) and the IAU/UNESCO World Higher Education Database entry. Wikipedia and search snippets were used as leads only and are never cited.

  1. International Association of Universities (UNESCO WHED), 2020-01-20 Supports: Teaching first started at Oxford in 1096; Royal Charter in 1248; public institution; colleges as corporate bodies distinct from the University; colleges responsible for individual teaching and housing; degrees awarded by the University; University Offices, Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JD. Open original source
  2. Facts and figures First-party
    University of Oxford, 2026 Supports: Student numbers (26,000+, 12,460 undergrad / 13,755 postgrad); THE Open original source
  3. The University First-party
    University of Oxford, 2026 Supports: Federal system of 36 colleges, three societies and four permanent private halls; colleges independent and self-governing under Privy Council charter; division of roles between colleges (admissions, housing, tutorial teaching) and the University (courses, lectures, exams, degrees); University/Balliol/Merton oldest colleges (by 13th century); Green Templeton newest college (2008); Reuben newest society (2019); four academic divisions; GLAM 21M+ objects; OUP a department of the University; Oxford an independent self-governing institution. Open original source
  4. College overview First-party
    University of Oxford, 2026 Supports: No central University campus; Oxford made up of over 30 colleges and halls across the city; every student belongs to a college as well as a department and the University; tutorial teaching takes place in colleges; college tutors decide who comes to their college; permanent private halls founded by Christian denominations, two admitting undergraduates. Open original source

Support independent research

Found this profile useful?

You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.

Support the research