Albert Einstein College of Medicine
New York medical college with an independence arc: founded by Yeshiva University in 1955, transferred to Montefiore in 2015, granted an absolute charter in 2019 — then made tuition free by Ruth Gottesman's $1B gift in 2024.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- New York, United States
- Country
- United States
- Founded
- 1955 by Yeshiva University
- Ownership transfer
- Transferred to Montefiore in 2015
- Independent degree-granting authority
- Absolute charter granted March 4, 2019
- Research funding
- $172M in NIH funding in 2018
- 2024 gift
- $1B from Ruth Gottesman (February 2024) — the largest ever to a US medical school, making tuition free
- Enrollment at gift
- 737 MD students; annual tuition above $59,000 before the gift
Overview
The Albert Einstein College of Medicine is a medical college in New York, United States, whose institutional independence was earned in stages rather than granted at birth: founded by Yeshiva University in 1955, transferred to Montefiore in 2015, and granted independent degree-granting authority through an absolute charter on March 4, 2019 (St. Louis Jewish Light, Newswise). Around the same period it was a significant research operation, drawing $172M in NIH funding in 2018 (Newswise). In February 2024 Ruth Gottesman’s $1B gift — the largest ever to a US medical school — made tuition free for its students (St. Louis Jewish Light). The gift dominated national coverage, but the independence arc underneath it is what gives the profile its structure — and what distinguishes a medical college with a real institutional history from a one-time headline.
From Yeshiva to Montefiore to independence
The college was founded by Yeshiva University in 1955 and later transferred to Montefiore in 2015 (St. Louis Jewish Light). For six decades the college’s identity was bound to its parent institutions; the 2015 transfer to Montefiore shifted that anchor without granting the college its own credentials. The key institutional milestone came on March 4, 2019, when the college received an absolute charter granting it independent degree-granting authority — the formal legal step that let its academic credentials stand on their own, separate from its parent institutions (Newswise). This profile dates full independence precisely to that charter and does not describe the college as fully independent before it (Newswise). The institutional story runs parallel to a research one: the college drew $172M in NIH funding in 2018, a scale of federal research support that underscores its standing as a research institution, not merely a teaching one (Newswise).
The billion-dollar gift
In February 2024 Ruth Gottesman gave the college $1B, described as the largest gift ever made to a US medical school, on terms that made tuition free (St. Louis Jewish Light). At the time, annual tuition exceeded $59,000, and the gift covered the 737 MD students then enrolled (St. Louis Jewish Light). The tuition-free move was corroborated by higher-education trade coverage days later (Inside Higher Ed). Despite the transformation of its financial foundation, the Einstein name was retained — a continuity signal amid a radical change in what attending costs (St. Louis Jewish Light). The gift arrived five years after the 2019 charter: an independent degree-granting institution, now tuition-free. In sequence, the college’s modern history reads as two kinds of liberation — first the legal autonomy of the absolute charter, then the financial removal of tuition as a barrier for its MD students (Newswise, St. Louis Jewish Light).
What this profile does not claim
- It does not describe the college as fully independent before the March 4, 2019 absolute charter; independence is dated precisely to that grant of authority.
- Current enrollment beyond the 737 MD-student figure at the time of the gift is not stated.
- Endowment details beyond the Gottesman gift are not stated.
Timeline
- 1955
- Yeshiva University founds the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.
- 2015
- The college is transferred to Montefiore.
- 2019
- An absolute charter granted on March 4, 2019 gives the college independent degree-granting authority; NIH funding stands at $172M in 2018.
- 2024
- Ruth Gottesman's $1B gift — the largest ever to a US medical school — makes tuition free for its 737 MD students; the Einstein name is retained.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- Current enrollment and post-gift admissions effects were not verified from fully-read sources.
- Endowment details beyond the Gottesman gift are not stated.
Sources
3 sources (3 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
- Supports: The March 4, 2019 absolute charter granting independent degree-granting authority, the Montefiore relationship history, and $172M NIH funding in 2018. Open original source
- Supports: The 1955 Yeshiva University founding, the 2015 Montefiore transfer, Ruth Gottesman's $1B February 2024 gift as the largest ever to a US medical school, tuition made free, the 737 MD-student figure, tuition above $59,000/year, and retention of the Einstein name. Open original source
- Supports: Corroboration that the $1B gift made tuition free at the NY medical college. Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research