People

Stephen J. Harrison

Co-founder of USAuto Insurance Company and CEO of First Acceptance Corporation from 2004 to 2011. He held the company's largest single stake (~14.8% in 2008) and sold his shares back in a December 2011 buyout tied to a separation agreement.

Stephen J. Harrison
Ask AI to summarize this page

Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.

ChatGPT Open with prompt Perplexity Open with prompt

FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.

Location
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Country
United States
Full name
Stephen J. Harrison
Known for
CEO and director of First Acceptance Corporation (2004–2011)
First Acceptance roles
Chief Executive Officer and director from April 2004; President from April 2004 to February 2008
Earlier business
Co-founded USAuto Insurance Company in 1995
2008 ownership
7,014,999 shares plus 91,681 acquirable shares (~14.8% of outstanding)
2011 buyout
Sold 7,049,515 shares to First Acceptance at $1.45 per share (December 2011), under a mutual separation and release agreement

Stephen J. Harrison

Stephen J. Harrison is a Nashville, Tennessee insurance executive who co-founded USAuto Insurance Company and then served as CEO of First Acceptance Corporation from 2004 to 2011. He became CEO and a director when Liberté Investors Inc. acquired USAuto Holdings in April 2004 and renamed itself First Acceptance Corporation, and he was the company’s largest single shareholder at the 2008 proxy — about 14.8% of outstanding stock.

Career

Harrison co-founded USAuto Insurance Company in Nashville in 1995, serving as its president until 2002 and then as chairman and CEO through the 2004 merger. In the merger, USAuto Holdings merged with a Liberté subsidiary and Harrison moved into the combined company’s top role: Chief Executive Officer, President, and director from April 2004 (proxy statement, Oct. 6, 2008).

He relinquished the presidency in February 2008 while remaining CEO and a director. In December 2011, First Acceptance bought back 7,049,515 shares from Harrison and his 2010 grantor retained annuity trust at $1.45 per share — a buyout tied to a mutual separation and release agreement (Exhibit 10.34).

Name disambiguation

This Stephen J. Harrison is not the Sir Ernest Harrison who chaired Racal, nor executives of the same name at Manitex or Relypsa.

FAQ

Was Stephen J. Harrison related to Thomas M. Harrison? The 2008 proxy lists both as large shareholders and executives of First Acceptance (Stephen held 14.8%, Thomas 14.7%); it does not state a family relationship, and none is stated here.

How big was his stake? At the 2008 proxy: 7,014,999 shares owned outright plus 91,681 shares acquirable within 60 days — roughly 14.8% of outstanding stock.

What this profile does not claim

  • It does not state his birth year, education, or post-2011 activities.
  • The Harrison Insurance Agency tenure dates differ between the 2004 registration statement and the 2008 proxy; the discrepancy is flagged, not resolved.
  • It does not characterize the 2011 separation beyond what the stock purchase agreement states.

Timeline

1995
Co-founds USAuto Insurance Company in Nashville, Tennessee, and serves as its president until 2002, chairman and CEO until 2004.
2004
Becomes Chief Executive Officer, President, and a director of Liberté Investors Inc. on completion of the USAuto Holdings merger (April 2004); the company changes its name to First Acceptance Corporation.
2008
Proxy lists him as CEO and director, with 7,014,999 shares owned plus 91,681 shares acquirable within 60 days — about 14.8% of outstanding stock, the largest disclosed single holder.
2011
First Acceptance repurchases 7,049,515 shares from Harrison and the Stephen J. Harrison 2010 Grantor Retained Annuity Trust at $1.45 per share, effective December 2011, under a stock purchase agreement tied to a mutual separation and release agreement.

What we could not verify

These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.

Sources

2 sources (2 tier 1), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.

Both sources were read in full. The SEC EDGAR link is the company filing index because direct accession URLs are unstable; the 2008-10-06 DEF 14A text itself was read in full for this profile.

  1. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, 2008-10-06 Supports: CEO/director/President roles and dates, USAuto co-founding, 2008 share ownership Open original source
  2. Justia (contract text from SEC filing), 2011-12-01 Supports: December 2011 buyout — 7,049,515 shares at $1.45 per share, tied to mutual separation and release agreement Open original source

Support independent research

Found this profile useful?

You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.

Support the research