Zip Co
Australian buy-now-pay-later company that reached the ASX via a 2009 reverse takeover before it was founded in 2013, and withdrew from New Zealand in 2026 to concentrate on Australia and the United States.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- Sydney, Australia
- Country
- Australia
- Business
- Buy-now-pay-later financial technology company (ASX: ZIP)
- Founders
- Larry Diamond and Peter Gray, founded in 2013 to disrupt the credit card model
- Headquarters
- Sydney, Australia
- Products
- Zip Money and Zip Pay — point-of-sale credit and digital payment services using interest-free buy-now, pay-later technology
- ASX listing
- Listed on the ASX since 2009 through a reverse takeover
- Chief executive
- Cynthia Scott (in role since August 2023)
Overview
Zip Co Ltd (ASX: ZIP) is an Australian financial technology company in the buy-now-pay-later sector, headquartered in Sydney, Australia, offering point-of-sale credit and digital payment services built on interest-free buy-now, pay-later technology (The Motley Fool Australia). It is one of Australia’s established BNPL brands, selling two consumer products — Zip Money and Zip Pay — and led by chief executive Cynthia Scott, who has been in the role since August 2023 (The Motley Fool Australia). In 2026 the company withdrew from the New Zealand market to concentrate on its two remaining core markets, Australia and the United States (1News). The company’s corporate history is unusual: the business was founded in 2013, but its stock exchange listing dates to 2009, arrived at through a reverse takeover (The Motley Fool Australia).
The backdoor listing
Zip was founded in 2013 by Larry Diamond and Peter Gray “with a goal to disrupt the existing credit card model” (The Motley Fool Australia). That founding premise — interest-free instalment credit at the point of sale, positioned as an alternative to credit cards — defines both of its consumer products: Zip Money, the longer-term instalment offering, and Zip Pay, its shorter-cycle product, both delivered through digital payment services (The Motley Fool Australia).
Yet the company’s chronology runs backwards on the ASX. According to The Motley Fool Australia’s company data, “Zip was listed on the ASX in 2009 through a reverse takeover” — meaning the listed entity’s market presence predates the business itself by four years (The Motley Fool Australia). A reverse takeover, in which a private company acquires control of an already-listed shell to reach the public market without a conventional IPO, is a backdoor listing route that leaves the ticker’s history older than the operating company behind it. Zip’s is a particularly clean illustration: the ZIP ticker on the Australian Securities Exchange has been tradeable since 2009, while the buy-now-pay-later business Diamond and Gray built dates only to 2013 (The Motley Fool Australia). Anyone reading Zip’s listed history therefore needs to distinguish the corporate shell’s listing date from the company’s actual founding.
Retrenchment
In July 2026 Zip withdrew from the New Zealand market, a move reported by 1News, TVNZ’s national news service (1News). The wind-down of New Zealand operations completed in August 2026 (1News). The stated rationale was focus: exiting New Zealand lets the company concentrate its resources on Australia and the United States, the two markets where it intends to compete (1News). The retreat shrinks Zip’s geographic footprint from three countries to two and reads as a consolidation play — a BNPL operator narrowing its market count rather than chasing scale everywhere (1News).
What this profile does not claim
- It does not state that Zip acquired QuadPay in 2020 — that transaction was not verified from a fully-read independent source.
- Current customer counts, merchant counts and financial results are not stated; no verified sources support them.
- The profile does not assess Zip’s share price, credit quality or regulatory exposure.
Timeline
- 2009
- Zip is listed on the ASX via a reverse takeover, before the company itself was founded.
- 2013
- Larry Diamond and Peter Gray found Zip Co, with a goal of disrupting the existing credit card model.
- 2026
- Zip withdraws from the New Zealand market, with the wind-down completing in August 2026, to focus on Australia and the United States.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- The 2020 QuadPay acquisition and current financials were not verified from fully-read independent sources — do not state them.
- Current customer and merchant counts are not stated from verified sources.
Sources
2 sources (1 tier 1, 1 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
- Supports: The New Zealand market withdrawal, the August 2026 wind-down completion, and the Australia/United States refocus. Open original source
- Zip Co Ltd (ASX: ZIP) Tier 2Supports: Founders, 2013 founding, credit-card-disruption goal, Zip Money/Zip Pay products, Sydney headquarters, the 2009 reverse-takeover ASX listing, and CEO Cynthia Scott's tenure. Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research