ThreatLocker
The Orlando zero-trust security company built on a default-deny thesis — founded in 2017 after cyber threats hit the founders' children's school — that reached nearly $500 million in funding with a $190 million Series F in 2026.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- Maitland, Florida, United States
- Country
- United States
- Founded
- 2017, in Orlando, Florida, by Danny Jenkins, Sami Jenkins and John Carolan
- Headquarters
- Maitland, Florida (Orlando area); offices also in Dublin, Dubai and Brisbane
- Approach
- Zero-trust default-deny: application allowlisting plus Ringfencing
- Total funding
- Nearly $500 million, including a $190 million Series F in July 2026
- Customers
- More than 70,000 organizations worldwide (company-reported)
Overview
ThreatLocker is an Orlando-area cybersecurity company built around a blunt inversion of the industry’s standard model: instead of trying to detect malicious software after it arrives, its platform blocks everything by default and runs only explicitly approved applications — a “default-deny” or zero-trust approach (SecurityWeek). Founded in 2017 by Danny Jenkins, Sami Jenkins and John Carolan, the company traces its origin to cybersecurity threats at the founders’ children’s school; the software they built in response became the basis of its endpoint security platform (Orlando Economic Partnership). By mid-2026 it reported more than 70,000 customer organizations and had raised nearly $500 million, including a $190 million Series F (SecurityWeek).
Default-deny instead of detect-and-respond
The company’s thesis, in CEO and co-founder Danny Jenkins’s words: “Most cybersecurity tools are still built around identifying malicious activity after it has already entered an environment, when the damage may already be done. We believe the better model is to define what is allowed and deny everything else by default” (SecurityWeek). In practice the platform combines application allowlisting — permit-or-deny control over which software may run — with Ringfencing, which restricts what approved applications are allowed to do: which files, storage, network resources and system actions they can touch (Orlando Economic Partnership, MSSP Alert). To guard against fileless attacks and exploits, it limits the actions of approved applications, manages user privileges, and regulates network traffic based on application identity; policy-based endpoint detection and response monitors indicators of compromise and can respond to anomalies in real time (SecurityWeek).
ThreatLocker has extended the model beyond endpoints. In 2026 it added zero-trust network access and zero-trust cloud access products, and it has been building controls aimed at AI-era risks: AI agents, AI-generated code, unauthorized AI tools, and policies governing AI websites and the movement of sensitive data (MSSP Alert). The broader platform is packaged for managed service providers, letting MSPs administer application control, network access and cloud policies through one stack — a deliberate channel strategy rather than direct-enterprise sales alone (MSSP Alert).
The funding arc and the Orlando bet
ThreatLocker’s capital history tracks its geographic expansion. After a $100 million Series C in April 2022, the company moved its headquarters to 1950 Summit Park Drive in Maitland — the former home of Electronic Arts Orlando — taking 42,000 square feet and growing local headcount from 100 to 215 within months (Orlando Economic Partnership). A $115 million Series D followed in 2024 and a $60 million Series E in 2025 (SecurityWeek). The July 2026 Series F — $190 million led by Elephant with D. E. Shaw Ventures, Arthur Ventures and new investor Koch Disruptive Technologies — was earmarked for AI-security development and international expansion starting with a Reading, U.K. office, adding to locations in Orlando, Dublin, Dubai and Brisbane (MSSP Alert). A source familiar with the matter put the prior round’s valuation at $1.6 billion, with the Series F lifting it significantly (SecurityWeek). The company also runs Zero Trust World, its flagship conference in Orlando, as part of a 300-plus-events-a-year presence (Orlando Economic Partnership).
What this profile does not claim
This profile does not state a Series F valuation — none was disclosed; the $1.6 billion figure describes the previous round. The 70,000-plus customer count is company-reported and was not independently audited. The founding story (threats at the founders’ children’s school) is stated as reported by the Orlando Economic Partnership; finer details of that incident were not verified. Product-capability descriptions reflect how the cited trade press describes the platform, not independent testing. No first-party ThreatLocker material was used in this profile.
Timeline
- 2017
- Danny Jenkins, Sami Jenkins and John Carolan found ThreatLocker in Orlando in response to cybersecurity threats at their children's school; the software they built became the basis of its endpoint security platform.
- 2022
- ThreatLocker raises a $100 million Series C in April, then moves its headquarters to 1950 Summit Park Drive in Maitland — the former home of Electronic Arts Orlando — growing local headcount from 100 to 215 in months.
- 2024
- A $115 million Series D round brings total funding past $200 million.
- 2025
- ThreatLocker raises a $60 million Series E.
- 2026
- A $190 million Series F led by Elephant — with D. E. Shaw Ventures, Arthur Ventures and new investor Koch Disruptive Technologies — funds AI security controls and a Reading, U.K. office; the company reports 70,000+ customer organizations and adds zero-trust network and cloud access products.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- The Series F valuation was not disclosed; the $1.6 billion figure refers to the prior round, attributed to a source familiar with the matter.
- The 70,000+ customer figure is company-reported via the press and was not independently audited.
- Details of the children's-school incident that prompted the founding are stated only as reported by the Orlando Economic Partnership.
Sources
3 sources (3 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
Built only from independent sources fetched and read in full: SecurityWeek, MSSP Alert and the Orlando Economic Partnership (all tier2). No first-party material was cited. Wikipedia was used only as a lead index and is not cited.
- Supports: Series F $190M, prior rounds (B $20M, C $100M, D $115M, E $60M), ~$500M total, $1.6B prior valuation, platform description, 70,000+ orgs, Jenkins default-deny quote Open original source
- Supports: Series F investors (Elephant, D.E. Shaw, Arthur Ventures, Koch), Reading UK office, Orlando/Dublin/Dubai/Brisbane locations, Ringfencing and AI-agent controls, ZTNA/cloud access products, MSP channel angle Open original source
- Supports: 2017 founding by the Jenkinses and John Carolan after school cyber threats, Series C $100M, Maitland HQ move (former EA building, 42,000 sq ft), 100-to-215 headcount growth, allowlisting/Ringfencing description, Zero Trust World event Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research