Suncorp Group
Brisbane-based general insurance group formed in 1996 from a Queensland government insurer, a building-society bank and a state development lender — now a pure-play Trans-Tasman insurer after selling its bank to ANZ in 2024.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
- Country
- Australia
- Founded
- 1996, by merger of Suncorp, Metway Bank and QIDC
- Headquarters
- Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
- Business
- General insurance in Australia and New Zealand
- ASX code
- SUN
- CEO
- Steve Johnston
- Scale
- FY2025 gross written premiums $15.009 billion; net profit after tax $1.823 billion
Overview
Suncorp Group is a Brisbane-based general insurance group operating across Australia and New Zealand, formed in 1996 when the Queensland government insurer Suncorp merged with Metway Bank and the Queensland Industry Development Corporation (QUT). Insurance trade press describes it as the country’s largest general insurance group (Insurance Business), while independent analysts describe a dominant market position in Australian and New Zealand general insurance (Morningstar Australia). Since ANZ completed its $4.9 billion acquisition of Suncorp Bank on 31 July 2024, the group has been a dedicated, pure-play insurer (Insurance News). Its chief executive is Steve Johnston (Reinsurance News).
From a Queensland government office to a listed group
Suncorp’s story starts in government, not in the private market. It began life in 1916 as the State Accident Insurance Office, soon renamed the State Government Insurance Office (SGIO), which served as the Queensland Government’s sole workplace-compensation provider until 1978, when the Workers’ Compensation Board took over (QUT). Its roots run further back, to 1902, when the Queensland Agricultural Bank opened its first branch lending to rural communities (Insurance Business).
By the 1970s the still government-owned SGIO had grown into a major financial institution with an explicitly social role, including rescuing struggling building societies, opening the SGIO Building Society in 1976, and investing in Castlemaine Perkins and the Bank of Queensland when they were under takeover threat (QUT). SGIO became Suncorp in 1985, and in 1996 Suncorp merged with Metway and the Queensland Industry Development Corporation, at which point the Queensland Government sold its shareholding (QUT). In 2001 the renamed Suncorp Metway acquired AMP’s Australian general insurance business, doubling its insurance customers (Insurance Business).
A house of brands, crowned by the Promina merger
Suncorp sells insurance less under its own name than through specialist brands, each aimed at a distinct segment (Insurance Business). AAMI covers home, landlord, strata, contents, car and business lines; GIO is the brand used outside Queensland; Bingle sells no-frills low-cost car insurance; Apia specialises in over-50s cover (around 700,000 customers); Shannons targets motoring enthusiasts; Terri Scheer specialises in landlord insurance (around 200,000 customers); CIL covers caravans and recreational vehicles; and Vero sells through brokers to small and larger businesses (Insurance Business). In New Zealand the key brands are Vero, AA Insurance and Asteron Life (Morningstar Australia).
The brand house reached its modern shape with the Promina merger, finalised on 20 March 2007, when the two groups began operating as one (Suncorp ASX announcement). The merger left the group unmistakably insurance-heavy — and highly exposed to Australian weather claims.
Becoming a pure-play insurer — and what that exposes
The decisive break came with the bank sale. Announced in July 2022, the $4.9 billion deal was initially opposed by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission in August 2023, then authorised by the Australian Competition Tribunal in February 2024 and approved by the federal Treasurer in June 2024, subject to binding commitments including maintaining the combined regional branch footprint for at least three years and no net job losses among Suncorp Bank employees in Australia as a direct result of the deal over the same period (FST Media / The Adviser). ANZ completed the acquisition on 31 July 2024, taking in about 3,000 staff and 1.2 million customers, with a transitional licence to use the Suncorp Bank brand for five to seven years (FST Media / The Adviser). Expected net sale proceeds were about $4.1 billion — distinct from the $4.9 billion headline price — with most to be returned to shareholders (Insurance News). The deal also carried Queensland commitments, including a disaster response centre of excellence in Brisbane and a Townsville regional hub set to employ about 120 people (Insurance News).
In FY2025 it reported net profit after tax of $1.823 billion, up from $1.197 billion in 2024, and gross written premiums of $15.009 billion, up from $14.1 billion (Reinsurance News). That profit included a $252 million one-off gain on the bank sale and $99 million for New Zealand Life, while natural hazard experience of $1.355 billion came in $205 million below allowance; the year brought 17 declared weather events and more than 120,000 natural hazard claims (Reinsurance News). The concentration risk is structural: Queensland makes up around 25% of Australian gross written premiums, where large natural peril events have been larger and more frequent, and reinsurance mitigates the risk only partly, at a cost that rises after large events (Morningstar Australia). Morningstar put FY2025 cash profit up 8.3% at $1.5 billion and the underlying margin at 11.9%, the top end of the 10–12% target range, with FY2026 guidance at mid-single-digit premium growth, while rating the shares no-moat and above its $16 fair value estimate (Morningstar Australia). The final step is already scheduled: in September 2026 Suncorp Bank told its 1.2 million customers it would progressively move their products, services and digital platforms to ANZ by June 2027, signalling the eventual retirement of the Suncorp Bank brand (FST Media / The Adviser).
What this profile does not claim
The “largest general insurer” label is trade-press wording, not an independently audited ranking, and is not asserted outright here; Morningstar’s “dominant market position” is the safer characterisation. The Promina purchase price in 2010 commentary was not independently re-verified and is not stated. Customer counts from 2016–2022 sources are dated and are not repeated as current figures. FY2025 figures are company results as reported by specialist and independent press, not figures this profile audited. The June 2027 brand retirement is a scheduled plan reported in September 2026, not a completed event.
Timeline
- 1902
- The Queensland Agricultural Bank opens its first branch, lending to rural communities — the earliest root of the group.
- 1916
- The State Accident Insurance Office is established, soon renamed the State Government Insurance Office (SGIO); it becomes the Queensland Government's sole workplace-compensation provider until 1978.
- 1985
- SGIO becomes Suncorp as diversification grows beyond its government insurance origins.
- 1996
- Suncorp merges with Metway Bank and the Queensland Industry Development Corporation to create Suncorp Metway; the Queensland Government sells its shareholding.
- 2001
- Suncorp Metway acquires AMP's Australian general insurance business, doubling its number of insurance customers.
- 2007
- Suncorp and Promina finalise their merger and begin operating as a merged group on 20 March 2007.
- 2024
- ANZ completes its $4.9 billion acquisition of Suncorp Bank on 31 July 2024, leaving Suncorp Group as a dedicated Trans-Tasman insurer.
- 2027
- Suncorp Bank customers are scheduled to complete migration to ANZ by June 2027, with the Suncorp Bank brand set to retire.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- The "largest general insurer" superlative is trade-press wording, not an independently audited ranking; Morningstar describes a dominant market position instead.
- The Promina purchase price reported in 2010 commentary was not independently re-verified and is not stated in this profile.
- Customer counts from 2016-2022 sources are dated and are not repeated as current figures.
- FY2025 financial figures are company results as reported by specialist and independent press, not independently audited by this profile.
Sources
7 sources (1 tier 1, 5 tier 2, 1 first-party), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Statements the subject makes about itself are marked as such and are not treated as independent evidence. See the source policy.
Built from independent sources fetched and read in full: QUT (tier1), Insurance Business, Insurance News, FST Media / The Adviser, Reinsurance News and Morningstar Australia (tier2). The single first-party item, the Suncorp ASX merger announcement, is used only for the uncontested 20 March 2007 merger date. Wikipedia was used only as a lead index and is not cited.
- Supports: 1916 SGIO origins, sole compensation provider until 1978, building-society rescues, 1985 rename, 1996 merger and government sell-out Open original source
- Suncorp Tier 2Supports: 1996 establishment, Brisbane headquarters, 1902 roots, 2001 AMP acquisition, brand-by-brand descriptions Open original source
- Supports: Pure-play insurer positioning, $4.9 billion sale, $4.1 billion expected net proceeds, disaster centre and Townsville hub commitments Open original source
- Supports: ACCC opposition, Tribunal authorisation, Treasurer approval and conditions, 31 July 2024 completion, 1.2 million customers, June 2027 migration Open original source
- Supports: FY2025 profit, cash earnings, gross written premiums, natural hazard experience, claims, buy-back, 17 weather events and 120,000 hazard claims Open original source
- Supports: FY25 cash profit and margins, dominant market position, brand list, Queensland weather concentration at about 25 percent of Australian premiums, FY26 guidance, no-moat and fair value assessment Open original source
- Suncorp and Promina finalise merger First-partySupports: Merger finalised and merged group operating from 20 March 2007 only Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research