RenoFi
The Philadelphia fintech that is not actually a lender — an AI-enabled renovation-financing platform whose partner credit unions lend against a home's after-renovation value, the first U.S. Renovation HELOC of its kind, backed by $65 million including a 2025 Fifth Wall-led Series B.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
- Country
- United States
- Founded
- 2018, by Justin Goldman, Robert Shedd, and Lee Miller
- Business model
- Renovation-financing platform; partner credit unions are the lenders
- Total funding
- $65 million (Series B led by Fifth Wall, 2025)
- Scale
- 8,000+ loans facilitated, $1.5B+ funded, licensed in 48 states
Overview
RenoFi is a Philadelphia-based fintech whose most important fact is a negative: it is not a lender (HousingWire). Instead, it operates an AI-enabled renovation-financing platform that lets partner credit unions offer home equity products based on a property’s after-renovation value (ARV) rather than its current value — including what HousingWire describes as the first U.S. home equity line of credit built on ARV, the “Renovation HELOC” (HousingWire). Founded in 2018 by Justin Goldman, Robert Shedd and Lee Miller, the company has raised $65 million in total capital, most recently a $22 million Series B led by Fifth Wall in 2025 (HousingWire).
The equity-light problem and the ARV answer
Goldman founded RenoFi after a personal frustration: in 2016, his young family moved to a Philadelphia suburb and discovered the house needed more work than they had budgeted for — but they had not built up enough equity to borrow against (Business of Home). The standard options — cash-out refinancing, traditional home equity loans, construction loans — were either unavailable to equity-light homeowners or cumbersome and poorly suited to smaller projects (HousingWire).
RenoFi’s answer was to adapt the after-renovation-value concept from construction lending to the simplicity of home equity products: a homeowner borrows against the home’s anticipated post-renovation value as determined by a third-party appraiser (HousingWire). Goldman told HousingWire the model could boost a homeowner’s buying power by as much as three times, with loans fundable in under 30 days (HousingWire). By 2022 the company said its “renovation underwrite” technology increased customers’ borrowing power by 11 times on average, allowing homeowners to borrow up to 90% of the home’s future value, with partner lenders offering loans up to $500,000 (Inman).
The platform also performs the diligence most lenders lack the staff for: feasibility analysis of the renovation, vetting that contractors are licensed and insured, reviewing the homeowner–contractor contract, and monitoring renovations in progress (Business of Home; Inman). RenoFi charges lenders a fee each time a homeowner is placed into a RenoFi Loan — its primary revenue — plus a demand-generation fee when it matches a homeowner who arrived through its own site (HousingWire).
The credit-union network
Rather than building a national lending operation, RenoFi called more than 500 banks and credit unions early on and found that most lacked ARV-lending capabilities — then built the rails for the ones willing to learn (HousingWire). Ardent Credit Union was the first financial institution to partner, piloting the program for over a year before launching the Ardent Renovation Loan in June 2020: a two-year draw period converting to a fixed-rate term loan, with Ardent underwriting the credit and RenoFi acting as “renovation concierge” (CUInsight). By early 2021 the company reported relationships with regional credit unions in 49 states (Business of Home), and by the 2025 Series B its backers included credit-union partners Ardent, Chartway, First Community and USALLIANCE Financial — lenders putting their own capital behind the platform (HousingWire). The company operates as a credit union service organization (CUSO), which it says gives its loan officers access to credit-union products their competitors at big mortgage banks lack (HousingWire).
The funding arc
RenoFi’s venture backing has been concentrated among a small set of repeat investors: a $750,000 unannounced seed from First Round Capital before 2020; a $6.4 million Series A in June 2020 led by Canaan Partners with Comcast Ventures and First Round, bringing total raised to $7.15 million and adding Canaan’s Brendan Dickinson to the board; and a $14 million Series A in April 2022 led by Canaan with Nyca Partners and CMFG Ventures (HousingWire; Inman). The March 2025 Series B — $22 million led by Fifth Wall with Progressive Insurance participating — brought total capital raised to $65 million, with Goldman saying the money would triple the retail renovation-financing team and accelerate the AI-enabled renovation-underwriting engine (HousingWire). The company reported at that point that it had facilitated more than 8,000 renovation loans totaling over $1.5 billion funded, was licensed in 48 states, and attracted more than 10,000 new homeowners per month (HousingWire).
Independent assessment
Bankrate’s 2026 review of RenoFi scores it 4.6 overall, while being candid about the model’s tradeoffs: the company is a licensed mortgage broker (NMLS 1802847), not the direct lender — borrowers are matched with credit-union partners, rates are only disclosed after applying, and fees include 1–3% closing costs plus an appraisal covering both current and after-renovation values (Bankrate). Its strengths per Bankrate: ARV-based borrowing can let homeowners borrow more than with a traditional HELOC, some partner lenders go as low as 620 on credit scores, and the product is available in most states and D.C. (excluding Hawaii, New York and Massachusetts) (Bankrate). Reputation-wise, Bankrate notes a 4.8-out-of-5 “excellent” TrustPilot score but only an A- Better Business Bureau rating (not BBB-accredited) and a middling 3.7 customer score on Bankrate itself (Bankrate).
What this profile does not claim
- It does not claim RenoFi’s loan-volume, funding, or traffic figures are independently verified; they are the company’s claims as reported by the cited press.
- It does not state current headcount, profitability, or product pricing; no figures meeting the sourcing standard were found.
- It does not assert that the “first U.S. Renovation HELOC” claim has been independently adjudicated; that is the company’s characterization as reported by HousingWire.
- No regulatory or enforcement actions against RenoFi were located in the sources read; this is a statement about the research, not a claim about the company’s record.
Timeline
- 2018
- Justin Goldman founds RenoFi with Robert Shedd and Lee Miller after his own struggle to finance renovations on an equity-light home; First Round Capital provides an unannounced $750,000 seed investment.
- 2020
- RenoFi raises $6.4M in Series A funding led by Canaan Partners, with Comcast Ventures and First Round Capital participating, bringing total venture raised to $7.15M; CEO Justin Goldman emphasizes RenoFi is not a lender — it partners with mortgage lenders such as credit unions that offer "RenoFi Loans."
- 2020
- Ardent Credit Union, RenoFi's first lending partner after a pilot of more than a year, launches the Ardent Renovation Loan: borrowers tap their home's after-renovation value, with a two-year draw period converting to a fixed-rate term loan, while RenoFi handles feasibility analysis and contractor vetting.
- 2022
- RenoFi raises $14M in Series A funding led by Canaan, with Nyca Partners and CMFG Ventures participating; the company reports more than a dozen lender partners, operations in 49 states, and loans of up to $500,000 based on up to 90% of a home's future value.
- 2025
- RenoFi closes a $22M Series B led by Fifth Wall with participation from Progressive Insurance and credit-union partners including Ardent, Chartway, First Community and USALLIANCE, bringing total capital raised to $65M; the company reports 8,000+ renovation loans facilitated, $1.5B+ funded, licenses in 48 states, and 10,000+ new homeowners per month.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- Whether RenoFi is currently profitable, and its current headcount, were not verified from fully-read independent sources and are not stated.
- Figures for loans facilitated, funding volume, and homeowner traffic are the company's claims as reported by HousingWire; they are attributed, not independently audited here.
- No regulatory or enforcement actions against RenoFi were found in the independent sources read; this profile does not claim its record is clean, only that none were located.
Sources
6 sources (6 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
Built entirely from independent sources fetched and read in full; no first-party sources used per editorial policy. Wikipedia used only as a lead index, never cited.
- Supports: Not-a-lender model, ARV mechanics (up to 3x buying power), $6.4M Series A, investors, fee-based revenue model, Ardent as first major partner, 49-state reach, founding story Open original source
- Supports: $22M Series B, Fifth Wall/Progressive investors, $65M total, founders, first U.S. Renovation HELOC based on ARV, 8,000+ loans / $1.5B funded, 48-state licensing, CUSO status Open original source
- Supports: Independent review — not a traditional lender, credit-union partner model, product range, state availability (excl. HI/NY/MA), NMLS 1802847, fees, 620 credit-score floor, scores (4.6 Bankrate / 3.7 customer), TrustPilot 4.8, BBB A- Open original source
- Supports: 2016 origin story, 2018 launch, Goldman's equity-light experience, platform mechanics (calculator, contractor diligence), 650% loan growth Q4 2020, credit-union network in 49 states Open original source
- Supports: Ardent as first partner, >1-year pilot, Renovation Loan terms (ARV-based, two-year draw to fixed-rate term), RenoFi's concierge/feasibility role Open original source
- Supports: $14M Series A (Canaan, Nyca, CMFG), 60+ headcount, dozen+ lenders, 49 states, up-to-90% of future value, $500K loans, lender-paid underwriting services, ~$495 fees, free to homeowners Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research