Payability
New York ecommerce lender founded in 2015 by Keith Smith that accelerates marketplace payouts to Amazon, Shopify and Walmart sellers — via Instant Access daily payouts and Instant Advance working-capital advances — underwriting on platform sales history rather than credit scores.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- New York, New York, United States
- Country
- United States
- Known for
- Fintech lending and working-capital solutions exclusively for eCommerce marketplace sellers
- Founded
- 2015, New York; co-founder and CEO Keith Smith
- Products
- Instant Access (accelerated daily payouts against marketplace sales) and Instant Advance (short-duration capital advances against future receivables)
- Underwriting
- Based on sellers' platform sales history and performance data rather than personal credit scores
- Scale
- Over $2.5 billion financed since 2015, serving Amazon and Shopify sellers (2021); financing portfolio surged 50% during the pandemic with the customer base nearly doubling
- Typical customer
- Sells on Amazon, Shopify or Walmart and faces a cash crunch waiting for marketplace payouts
Overview
Payability is a New York fintech lender that finances a very specific kind of small business: the online seller. Founded in 2015 and led by co-founder and CEO Keith Smith, the company builds lending and working-capital products exclusively for eCommerce sellers on marketplaces such as Amazon, Walmart and Shopify — businesses that traditional banks, in PYMNTS’s framing, left “empty-handed because banks, big and small, smelled risk and uncertainty” (PYMNTS).
The core problem Payability solves is the marketplace payout lag. Marketplaces release seller funds on delayed cycles — Amazon pays out every two weeks, and with holdbacks and limiters it can take a month or more for transaction funds to actually reach a seller’s bank account — while sellers need daily cash flow to buy inventory and keep growing (Glenbrook). Payability inserts itself into that gap: it pays sellers first and then waits out the standard marketplace payment terms itself (Glenbrook).
Two products, one underwriting insight
The company offers two primary financing products. Instant Access provides accelerated daily payouts against sales the seller has already made — next-day money instead of waiting 60 days or more after orders on delayed-term marketplaces like Amazon or Walmart (Retail Dive). Instant Advance is a shorter-duration capital advance against future receivables, meant to be recycled: sellers draw it to buy inventory or fund advertising, sell through, and draw again (PYMNTS; Retail Dive).
What distinguishes the model is underwriting. Rather than scoring the individual’s personal credit — which for online-only businesses often reveals little — Payability builds its risk assessment around the seller’s history with the platforms they sell through: sales volumes, product categories and platform performance data, analyzed with machine-learning models trained on marketplace data signals (PYMNTS; Glenbrook). PYMNTS framed it as a lifeline for “small sellers without the business bona fides for a bank loan” — some of whom, it noted, were being helped to grow big enough to become acquisition targets (PYMNTS).
Pandemic boom and scale
The COVID-19 eCommerce surge was Payability’s accelerant. Bank Innovation reported in 2020 that its financing portfolio had jumped 50% since the start of the pandemic, that it had financed more than $300 million since then, and that its customer base had nearly doubled — taking cumulative financing past $2.5 billion since the 2015 founding (Bank Innovation). By early 2021, Glenbrook’s podcast host described the firm as having “loaned over $2.5B since 2015 to Amazon and Shopify sellers” (Glenbrook).
The company expanded its footprint beyond Amazon early: in 2018 it extended its financing and payout services to Newegg, Tophatter, Walmart and Jet.com, alongside the launch of Instant Advance — a move Retail Dive framed as following sellers who were increasingly spreading across multiple marketplaces, with nearly half of Amazon sellers surveyed still drawing 81%–100% of their revenue from Amazon even as Walmart and Jet.com gained ground (Retail Dive). Its customers sell on Amazon and other major marketplaces, and its advances reach up to $250,000 for growth-stage sellers (PYMNTS).
Glenbrook’s framing puts the model in a longer arc: since the 2008 banking crisis left traditional lenders more risk-averse toward small business, fintechs have stepped into the “money supply chain” as new distributors of funds, enabled by machine-learning underwriting and risk models — with banks and institutional investors still supplying the money, now routed through the fintech channel (Glenbrook).
What this profile does not claim
- This profile does not state Payability’s pricing, fees or card terms: the only sources for those figures were the CEO’s own statements, which this profile’s sourcing rule excludes.
- It does not claim the company launched its planned “Vendor Pay” product or expanded to Canada and Europe; those plans were stated only in a 2020 CEO interview.
- It does not repeat competitor marketing claims about Payability (including UCC-lien criticism), which were not independently verified.
- Independent coverage found ends in 2022; the company’s more recent status is not stated.
- Financing totals are as reported by the outlets cited, not independently audited.
Timeline
- 2015
- Payability is founded in New York as a funding platform for eCommerce sellers; multiple independent outlets later corroborate the 2015 founding and over $2.5 billion financed since then.
- 2018
- Payability expands its financing and payout services beyond Amazon to additional marketplaces including Newegg, Tophatter, Walmart and Jet.com, and launches Instant Advance, a financing product letting sellers draw on future receivables for inventory or launches.
- 2020
- During the pandemic eCommerce boom, Payability's financing portfolio surges 50%, it finances more than $300 million since the start of the pandemic, its customer base nearly doubles, and cumulative financing passes $2.5 billion since the 2015 founding.
- 2021
- In a Glenbrook Partners podcast episode, the host frames Payability as a firm that had "loaned over $2.5B since 2015 to Amazon and Shopify sellers," using machine-learning underwriting on marketplace data to price financing for sellers locked out of bank credit.
- 2022
- PYMNTS profiles Payability as one of the fintechs serving online sellers abandoned by banks, noting its typical customer sells on Amazon, Shopify or Walmart, its instant payment options and instant advances of up to $250,000, and its underwriting based on platform sales history rather than personal credit.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- Pricing specifics stated only by the CEO in interviews (e.g. a 2% Instant Access fee, 0.3–1% per week for Instant Advance, a 2% cashback seller card) are first-party claims; under this profile's sourcing rule they are not stated.
- Retail Dive's 2018 expansion report is editorially published but attributes the underlying expansion facts to a Payability press release; flagged accordingly.
- A planned "Vendor Pay" product mentioned by the CEO in a 2020 interview is first-party only and is not stated.
- Competitor marketing pages (Resolve Pay's comparison blog) make unverified claims about Payability, including UCC-lien persistence and review ratings; none are stated here.
- No substantial independent coverage of Payability was found after 2022; the profile's facts stop at that coverage.
- The full founding team beyond co-founder/CEO Keith Smith is not detailed in the independent sources read.
Sources
4 sources (4 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
- Supports: Payability as one of the fintechs serving online sellers abandoned by banks; lending/credit solutions tailored for online sellers; typical customer sells on Amazon, Shopify or Walmart and waits to get paid; instant payment options and instant advances up to $250,000; underwriting based on the seller's history with the platforms rather than the individual's credit score Open original source
- Supports: Digital SMB financer; financing portfolio surged 50% since pandemic start; invoice factoring product; advances of clients' sales in exchange for a portion of the total; $300M+ financed since pandemic start; customer base nearly doubled; $2.5B+ since 2015 founding; New York-based; expansion plans for Canada and Europe Open original source
- Supports: Expansion of financing and payout services to Newegg, Tophatter, Walmart and Jet.com; launch of Instant Advance for sellers to access future receivables; Instant Access next-day payouts for Amazon vendors versus 60+ day waits Open original source
- Supports: Host's editorial framing — fintechs reaching underserved lending segments; banks too slow/risk-averse for small business lending; "loaned over $2.5B since 2015 to Amazon and Shopify sellers"; Amazon pays out every two weeks, funds can take a month or more to reach sellers' banks; Payability's ML-based underwriting on marketplace data ("trains the robots") to price financing for sellers locked out of bank credit Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research