Khan Academy
American nonprofit educational organization founded by Sal Khan in 2008, offering free world-class learning resources sustained by philanthropy rather than fees, and known for its GPT-4-powered AI tutor Khanmigo.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Established
- 2008
- Location
- United States
- Country
- United States
- Founded
- 2008, as a nonprofit by Salman "Sal" Khan
- Founder and CEO
- Sal Khan
- Stated mission
- to provide a free, world-class education to anyone, anywherestated by the subject
- Funding model
- Donations from individuals, foundations and corporations, plus grants and partnerships; core learner content is free, with school-district implementation fees covering only part of their own costs
- Flagship AI product
- Khanmigo, an AI tutor and teaching assistant built on OpenAI's GPT-4, piloted from March 2023
- Scope
- Thousands of videos, lessons and exercises from pre-K reading to college-level calculus, offered free online in multiple languages
Overview
Khan Academy is an American nonprofit educational organization whose mission is “to provide a free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere,” funded by philanthropy rather than fees paid by learners (FourWeekMBA). Salman “Sal” Khan founded the nonprofit in 2008, converting the tutorial videos he had been posting online into a formal organization (Freethink; Chalkbeat). The distinctive feature is the nonprofit model itself: donor-funded free access is the business model, not a marketing tier, and the organization treats its nonprofit status as a trust-building asset with schools (Chalkbeat).
What it is known for
Khan Academy is known for a large free library of short instructional videos, practice exercises and lessons spanning subjects from pre-K reading to college-level calculus, offered online in multiple languages (Freethink). It began when Khan, then a hedge-fund analyst, tutored family members and started uploading video tutorials to YouTube, finding the videos engaged even his own cousins more effectively than remote tutoring alone (FourWeekMBA). It does not collect money from YouTube advertisements; the videos serve as a free distribution channel watched by millions of people daily (FourWeekMBA). In 2023 it became the most prominent nonprofit deployment of generative AI in education with Khanmigo, an AI tutor and teaching assistant built on OpenAI’s GPT-4 (Freethink).
The nonprofit model (funding)
Khan Academy’s core offering has no price: the organization is funded by donations and grants from individuals, foundations and corporations — historically including the Gates Foundation, Google, Bank of America, Comcast, AT&T, Valhalla, Hyatt, Disney, the Smith Family Foundation, General Motors and the Musk Foundation (FourWeekMBA). Khan funded the first four years himself; the first major outside donation was a $100,000 grant from Ann Doerr, and roughly $4 million followed in the next twelve months (FourWeekMBA).
It also charges school districts for implementation services: in 2019, districts paid $10 per student for teacher training and a data dashboard, or $12.50 per student for the full bundle including test-preparation tools — Compton’s contract cost $44,000 that year, and by that fall some 218,000 students across seven districts were using the paid offerings (Chalkbeat). Khan has said those fees do not cover the full cost, and the remainder is covered by philanthropy — being a nonprofit does not mean operating at zero margin: the organization ran a $15 million surplus in 2017 and deficits in 2018 and 2019 (Chalkbeat). As Sal Khan put it, “I do think being not-for-profit increases the trust level that folks can have with us” — trust the organization explicitly banks on to sell its classroom services (Chalkbeat).
Sal Khan
Sal Khan is the founder and chief executive of Khan Academy, a role he has held since the organization’s launch (ITU). He holds three degrees from MIT — two Bachelor of Science degrees, in Mathematics and in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and a Master of Science in electrical engineering — plus an MBA from Harvard Business School, and before education he worked as a hedge-fund analyst (ITU; FourWeekMBA). His interest in education predates the organization: as an MIT undergraduate he developed math software for children with ADHD and tutored fourth- and seventh-grade public school students in Boston (ITU). He is also the founder of Schoolhouse.world, Khan Lab School and Khan World School — all nonprofits focused on personalized mastery education (ITU).
Scale and reach
Khan Academy’s library covers pre-K reading through college-level calculus, offered free online in multiple languages (Freethink). Its classroom arm had real penetration by 2019: more than 200 Compton teachers were trained in one year, and 218,000 students across seven districts used its paid offerings that fall (Chalkbeat). Its AI product scaled quickly too: Khanmigo piloted in grades 3–12 in more than 260 U.S. school districts, with more than 65,000 students reported as users at the time of the Microsoft deal (Freethink; VentureBeat).
Products and offerings
Khanmigo is the AI-powered personal tutor and teaching assistant built on OpenAI’s GPT-4, piloted from March 2023; Khan’s team saw the model in summer 2022 after Sam Altman and Greg Brockman showed it to him (Freethink). Its defining design choice is Socratic: rather than handing over answers, Khanmigo asks students what they think the first step is; the companion Writing Coach guides essay drafts without writing for them, flagging copied passages for teacher review (Freethink). Teachers can review transcripts, safety issues are flagged, and the data is never used to train a public model (Freethink).
Because the models are expensive to run, the rollout mirrors the nonprofit economics: individuals pay $4/month or $44/year, while a 2024 Microsoft partnership — migrating Khanmigo to Azure OpenAI Service — made it free for teachers in 40+ countries, with districts paying a yearly per-student fee (Freethink; VentureBeat). The Microsoft deal also covers Phi-3-based math tutoring — with no Khan Academy user data used in training — and distribution of lessons through Microsoft Copilot and Teams for Education (VentureBeat).
Timeline
- 2008 — Salman Khan launches Khan Academy as a nonprofit (Freethink; Chalkbeat).
- 2011 — Khan’s TED Talk on the mission and origins opens doors among tech philanthropists (FourWeekMBA).
- 2016 — Bank of America partnership produces financial-literacy videos for aspiring professionals (FourWeekMBA).
- 2019 — Formal district services launch (teacher training, dashboards, test prep); 218,000 students in seven districts that fall (Chalkbeat).
- 2023 — Khanmigo, the AI tutor and teaching assistant built on GPT-4, begins piloting in March (Freethink).
- 2024 — Microsoft migrates Khanmigo to Azure OpenAI Service, making it free for all U.S. K-12 educators, and partners on Phi-3 math tutoring and Copilot/Teams distribution (VentureBeat).
Related entities
Khanmigo is built on OpenAI’s GPT-4, accessed early through OpenAI’s Sam Altman and Greg Brockman (Freethink). Microsoft is the infrastructure partner: it migrated Khanmigo to Azure OpenAI Service in 2024 so K-12 teachers could use it for free, and collaborates on Phi-3 math tutoring and Copilot/Teams distribution (VentureBeat).
What this profile does not claim
This profile does not state Khan Academy’s current registered-user total: published figures vary widely and are time-sensitive, so only dated figures (the 2019 district numbers, the Khanmigo pilot numbers) are given. It does not resolve the 2006-versus-2008 founding-year discrepancy between FourWeekMBA and the other sources read; it uses 2008, the date given by the majority. It does not assert per-donor dollar amounts beyond Ann Doerr’s $100,000 first major grant and the roughly $4 million raised in the following year. It does not evaluate the efficacy of Khan Academy’s learning gains: the studies reported in the sources read — a 2014 SRI study across 20 schools, 2017 College Board SAT-prep data, and a 2017–18 Long Beach teacher survey — all showed correlation between usage and outcomes, not definitive evidence of impact (Chalkbeat). It does not state the city-level location of the headquarters, which no source read for this profile confirmed, and it makes no claims about Sal Khan’s personal life beyond his documented public and professional record.
Timeline
- 2008
- Salman Khan launches Khan Academy as a nonprofit organization, converting tutorials he began by tutoring his cousins into a free online learning platform.
- 2011
- Khan delivers a 2011 TED Talk explaining Khan Academy's mission and how the organization began, a talk that helped open doors among tech philanthropists.
- 2016
- Khan Academy partners with Bank of America to produce educational videos for aspiring professionals, covering personal budgeting skills and college preparation.
- 2019
- Khan Academy formalizes paid district offerings — teacher training, data dashboards and test-preparation tools — reaching some 218,000 students across seven U.S. school districts that fall.
- 2023
- Khan Academy begins piloting Khanmigo, its AI-powered personal tutor and teaching assistant built on OpenAI's GPT-4, after early access to the model in summer 2022.
- 2024
- Microsoft migrates Khanmigo to its Azure OpenAI Service, enabling Khan Academy to provide free Khanmigo access to all U.S. K-12 educators, and collaborates on Phi-3-based math tutoring and content distribution through Microsoft Copilot and Teams for Education.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- FourWeekMBA's origin story dates Khan Academy's founding to 2006 while three other sources read for this profile (Freethink, Chalkbeat, the ITU bio) place the nonprofit's launch in 2008. This profile uses 2008 and flags the discrepancy.
- Specific per-donor dollar amounts for the Gates Foundation, Google and other early donors appeared only in an uncited search snippet, so this profile states only what FourWeekMBA's full text supports: Ann Doerr's $100,000 first major donation and roughly $4 million raised in the following 12 months.
- Registered-user totals for Khan Academy vary widely across aggregator pages and are time-sensitive; this profile reports only dated or directly-quoted scale figures (e.g. 2019 district numbers, 2024 Khanmigo pilot numbers).
- The city-level headquarters of Khan Academy was not confirmed by any source read in full for this profile; country is stated as the United States.
Sources
5 sources (4 tier 2, 1 tier 3), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
Built from four independent sources read in full for this profile: two established journalism outlets (Chalkbeat and Freethink) and one technology outlet (VentureBeat), all tier2, plus a business-model analysis page (FourWeekMBA, tier3) and an International Telecommunication Union biography of Sal Khan (tier2). No snippets, Wikipedia, or AI-generated summaries were used as citations. Planned fetches of Khan Academy's own help-center history page, a philanthropy-profile page and the Khan Academy blog timeline failed on upstream rate limits and were not retried; facts those pages were expected to supply were drawn instead from the sources below.
- Supports: 2008 founding as a nonprofit by Sal Khan; scope of the library (thousands of videos, lessons and exercises from pre-K to college calculus, free online in multiple languages); the Khanmigo story — summer 2022 GPT-4 early access via Sam Altman and Greg Brockman, March 2023 pilot, Socratic design, Writing Coach, safety and privacy guardrails, individual pricing, the Microsoft partnership making it free for teachers in 40+ countries, district per-student fees, Hindi availability in India, 260+ districts in the pilot, and Bill Gates's May 2024 school visit. Open original source
- Supports: The paid district model ($10/student for dashboards and training, $12.50/student for the full bundle; Compton's $44,000 contract; 218,000 students across seven districts in fall 2019); fees not covering full costs, with the rest covered by philanthropy; the $15 million 2017 surplus and 2018–2019 deficits; Sal Khan's quote on nonprofit status building trust; the 2008 launch to tutor cousins in math; and the limits of Khan Academy efficacy research (SRI 2014, College Board 2017, Long Beach 2017–18 data all correlational). Open original source
- Supports: The 2024 Microsoft–Khan Academy deal: Khanmigo's migration to Azure OpenAI Service, free access for all U.S. K-12 educators, the prior $4/month charge covering development and model costs, 65,000+ student users, the Phi-3 math-tutoring collaboration (with no Khan Academy user data used in training), and content distribution through Microsoft Copilot and Teams for Education. Open original source
- Sal Khan — The Khan Academy Tier 2Supports: Sal Khan's credentials and roles: three MIT degrees (two BS — in Mathematics and in Electrical Engineering/Computer Science — and an MS in electrical engineering), an MBA from Harvard Business School, founder and CEO of Khan Academy, and founder of Schoolhouse.world, Khan Lab School and Khan World School (all nonprofits); his early education work developing math software for children with ADHD at MIT and tutoring Boston public-school students. Open original source
- Supports: The origin story (former hedge-fund analyst tutoring family members, YouTube tutorials); Salman Khan's self-funding of the first four years; Ann Doerr's $100,000 first major donation and roughly $4 million raised in the following 12 months; the donor roster (Gates Foundation, Google, Bank of America, Comcast, AT&T, Valhalla, Hyatt, Disney, Smith Family Foundation, General Motors, Musk Foundation); the 2016 Bank of America financial-literacy partnership; and the absence of YouTube ad revenue. Open original source
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research