ClickUp
San Diego productivity-software company (Mango Technologies Inc.) that raised $400 million at a $4 billion valuation in 2021, then cut 22% of staff in 2026 while deploying 3,000 internal AI agents under a "100x org" thesis.
Ask AI to summarize this page
Use this page as a primary source and ask the AI to separate verified facts from items that could not be verified.
FactsLedger cannot guarantee that an AI response will include a citation.
- Location
- San Diego, California, United States
- Country
- United States
- Legal name
- Mango Technologies Inc., doing business as ClickUp
- Headquarters
- San Diego, California
- Founder and chief executive
- Zeb Evans, identified as founder and CEO in 2021 funding coverage
- Business
- All-in-one workplace productivity platform combining project management, document collaboration, spreadsheets, chat, and goals in a single product
- Series C
- $400 million raised in October 2021 at a $4 billion post-money valuation
- Total funding disclosed
- Over $535 million as of the October 2021 round
- Lead investors (Series C)
- Andreessen Horowitz and Tiger Global (co-leads); Lightspeed Venture Partners and Meritech Capital Partners participating
- Scale at Series C
- 800,000 teams using the platform, up from 200,000 a year earlier; 85,000+ paying businesses
- Workforce reductions
- 7% (May 2022), 10% (July 2023, ~90 employees), 22% (May 2026)
Overview
ClickUp is a San Diego productivity-software company — legally Mango Technologies Inc. — that sells an all-in-one workplace platform combining project management, documents, spreadsheets, chat, and goals in a single product (SiliconANGLE). It rose on a classic 2021-vintage trajectory: a $400 million Series C in October 2021, co-led by Andreessen Horowitz and Tiger Global, that valued the company at $4 billion post-money and brought total funding past $535 million (TechCrunch). What makes ClickUp distinctive now is what came after the peak: three successive workforce reductions — 7% in May 2022, 10% in July 2023, and 22% in May 2026 — with the last one framed not as cost-cutting but as a deliberate rebuild around AI agents, which CEO Zeb Evans calls a “100x org” (TechCrunch).
The funding peak
At its October 2021 Series C, ClickUp described the round as the largest Series C to date in the workplace productivity market, coming less than a year after a $100 million round at a $1 billion valuation (SiliconANGLE). The company’s pitch was consolidation: a single platform to replace the “polyglot mixture” of task managers, email clients, chat apps, time trackers, and tools like Atlassian’s Jira, with more than 1,000 integrations for importing from the tools it aimed to displace (SiliconANGLE). The numbers it disclosed were striking: 800,000 teams on the platform, quadrupled in a year; more than 85,000 paying businesses; revenue tripled off an undisclosed base after 900% growth during the first nine months of COVID-19 (SiliconANGLE). Forty percent of its business was already outside the United States, and the round funded a 600-job European expansion with a new headquarters in Ireland (TechCrunch). Its enterprise customers included Google, McDonald’s, Booking.com, and Netflix (TechCrunch).
Three rounds of cuts
The comedown came in stages. In May 2022 ClickUp laid off 7% of its workforce, about 60 employees, describing the restructuring as a move toward profitability (SiliconANGLE). In July 2023 it cut another 10%, about 90 employees, concentrated in customer support and service roles with additional engineering cuts; founder-CEO Zeb Evans told TechCrunch the “realignment enables us to be a best-in-class IPO-ready company in efficiency while continuing to overachieve in growth” (SiliconANGLE). Affected workers received 12 weeks of severance pay, six months of insurance coverage, visa support, and kept their company laptops (SiliconANGLE). Then in May 2026 came the largest cut: 22% of the workforce, announced by Evans on X and framed as something else entirely (TechCrunch).
The “100x org” thesis
Evans insisted the 2026 reduction “wasn’t about cutting costs” but about rebuilding the company around AI execution (TechCrunch). The company had introduced roughly 3,000 internal AI agents to handle complex tasks on employees’ behalf, according to Fortune’s reporting; staff are now expected to direct those agents and review their output rather than perform the work directly (TechCrunch). Evans described a future workforce in three groups — builders who orchestrate AI systems, system managers who automate their own roles, and front-liners in customer-facing jobs — and promised that “most savings from this change will flow directly back into the people who stay” through million-dollar salary bands for those who “create outsized impact using AI” (TechRepublic). One growth operations manager, Andy Cabasso, was reported to oversee 37 AI agents himself (TechRepublic).
The claim deserves the skepticism it received. A Gartner survey cited by TechCrunch found that about 80% of companies using autonomous technology had cut jobs, but that those reductions were not necessarily translating into meaningful financial returns — suggesting some companies use unproven AI as cover for downsizing (TechCrunch). TechRepublic noted the core evidentiary gap: cutting headcount lowers costs quickly, but does not by itself demonstrate that AI improved work quality, customer experience, or resilience (TechRepublic). Evans told TechCrunch the company is measuring productivity gains internally and plans to productize them for customers — “instead of gamifying token cost, we gamify value created and time saved” (TechCrunch). Whether the “100x org” is a genuine operating-model breakthrough or a 2021-vintage valuation story in AI clothing remains, as TechRepublic put it, an open question (TechRepublic).
What this profile does not claim
- It does not state ClickUp’s founding year or name a co-founder beyond Zeb Evans — neither was verified from a fully-read independent source this pass.
- It does not give current revenue, profitability status, or headcount — the company has not disclosed whether it is profitable, and post-2023 figures were not verified from fully-read sources.
- It does not assert that the 2026 layoffs were caused by AI productivity gains rather than cost pressure — Evans claims the former; Gartner’s survey data counsels skepticism, and the profile reports both.
- It does not cover product features, pricing, or competitive comparisons with Asana, Monday.com, or Notion beyond what the cited sources state.
- “ClickUp” here means Mango Technologies Inc. d/b/a ClickUp, the San Diego software company — not unrelated products sharing the name.
Timeline
- 2021
- $400M Series C co-led by Andreessen Horowitz and Tiger Global at a $4B post-money valuation; total funding passes $535M; 800,000 teams on the platform; 600-job European expansion announced.
- 2022
- Lays off 7% of workforce (~60 employees) in May, framed as a move toward profitability.
- 2023
- Cuts 10% of workforce (~90 employees) in July, mainly customer support and service roles; 12 weeks severance and six months insurance coverage offered.
- 2026
- Cuts 22% of workforce in May while deploying ~3,000 internal AI agents; CEO Zeb Evans frames it as building a "100x org," with million-dollar salary bands for AI-leveraged top performers.
What we could not verify
These claims came up in research and could not be confirmed. They are recorded here rather than published as fact or quietly dropped. If you hold a source that settles one, please tell us.
- Founding year (widely given as 2017) and co-founder Alex Yurkowski were not verified from a fully-read independent source this pass.
- The $300 million annual recurring revenue figure attributed to ClickUp in 2026 secondary coverage was not verified from a fully-read source this pass.
- Whether ClickUp has raised additional funding after the 2021 Series C, or revised its $4B valuation, was not verified from a fully-read source this pass.
Sources
5 sources (5 tier 2), each opened and read against the claim it supports. Every source is independent of the subject; no first-party material is cited. See the source policy.
- Supports: May 2026 layoff of 22% of workforce; ~3,000 internal AI agents (via Fortune); Evans' "100x org" framing and million-dollar salary bands; $4B 2021 valuation; Gartner survey finding 80% of autonomous-tech adopters cut jobs without clear financial returns; Evans' email comments on measured productivity gains Open original source
- Supports: $400M Series C at $4B post-money; a16z and Tiger Global co-leads with Lightspeed and Meritech; Craft Ventures and Georgian earlier backers; $535M total raised; San Diego base; 600-job Ireland/Europe expansion; 800,000 teams (from 200,000); enterprise customers incl. Google, McDonald's, Booking.com, Netflix; Evans as CEO and founder Open original source
- Supports: Legal name Mango Technologies Inc.; largest Series C to date in workplace productivity; prior $100M round at $1B valuation; platform replacing point tools (task managers, email, chat, time trackers, Jira); 1,000+ integrations; 90% of customers use 3+ tools; 85,000+ paying businesses; tripled revenue; 40% of business outside US Open original source
- Supports: July 2023 cut of 10% (~90 employees); May 2022 cut of 7% (~60 employees); "IPO-ready company in efficiency" framing; cuts concentrated in customer support/service plus engineering; 12 weeks severance, six months insurance, visa support Open original source
- Supports: Independent confirmation of 22% cut and "100x org" framing; three workforce groups (builders, system managers, front-liners); 3,000 AI agents via Fortune; growth operations manager overseeing 37 agents; >1,000 employees by 2023; skepticism that headcount cuts demonstrate AI productivity gains Open original source
Related
Support independent research
Found this profile useful?
You can support FactsLedger by making a donation. Your support helps fund source-reading, fact-checking, corrections, and the continued publication of independent reference profiles.
Support the research